Pavement - Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal [Special Edition Reissue]
Pavement - Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal [Special Edition Reissue]

Pavement - Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal [Special Edition Reissue]

Subscription Save

This item is scheduled to be released on 8th April 2022.


An essential set for the Pavement fan in all of us.


Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal, an exhaustive 45-track reissue of the band’s much-loved fifth and final album. The new special edition compiles the remastered original album, B-sides, home demos, rehearsal tapes, era-appropriate live recordings, and even the rough tracks from Pavement’s scrapped session at Sonic Youth’s Echo Canyon studio. Altogether, it features 28 unreleased tracks.

Originally released in 1999, Terror Twilight marked a departure from Pavement’s established operating methods. Which is to say that it was recorded with a big-time producer in an expensive studio. However, for all the talk of “polish” and “precision” it’s still very much a Pavement record. And a great one. Like every Pavement album that preceded it, Terror Twilight thrills and confounds. Often at the same time. Twenty-two years on, the songs remain moody, strange, and eminently deserving of re-celebration.

The 4xLP and 2xCD editions will include a book with never-before-seen photos and commentary/context from band members Mark Ibold, Stephen Malkmus, Bob Nastanovich, Spiral Stairs, and Steve West as well as producer Nigel Godrich (Radiohead, Beck).


Side A

1. Platform Blues
2. The Hexx
3. You Are a Light
4. Cream of Gold
5. Ann Don’t Cry

Side B

1. Billie
2. Folk Jam
3. Major Leagues
4. Carrot Rope
5. Shagbag #
6. Speak, See, Remember
7. Spit On a Stranger

Side C

1. The Porpoise and the Hand Grenade
2. Rooftop Gambler
3. Your Time to Change
4. Stub Your Toe
5. Major Leagues (Demo Version)
6. Decouvert de Soleil

Side D

1. Carrot Rope (SM Demo) #
2. Folk Jam Moog (SM Demo) #
3. Billy (SM Demo) #
4. Terror Twilight [Speak, See, Remember] (SM Demo) #
5. You Are a Light (SM Demo) #
6. Cream of Gold Intro (Jessamine) #
7. Cream of Gold (SM Demo) #

Side E

1. Spit On a Stranger (SM Demo) #
2. Folk Jam Guitar (SM Demo) #
3. You Are a Light (Echo Canyon) #
4. Ground Beefheart [Platform Blues] (Echo Canyon) #
5. Folk Jam (Echo Canyon) #

Side F

1. Ann Don’t Cry (Echo Canyon) #
2. Jesus in Harlem [Cream of Gold] (Echo Canyon) #
3. The Porpoise and the Hand Grenade (Echo Canyon) #
4. Spit On a Stranger (Echo Canyon) #
5. Be the Hook #

Side G

1. You Are a Light (Jackpot!) #
2. Terror Twilight [Speak, See, Remember] (RPM) #
3. Rooftop Gambler (Jessamine) #
4. For Sale! The Preston School of Industry (Jessamine) #
5. Frontwards (Live) #

Side H

1. Platform Blues (Live) #
2. The Hexx (Live) #
3. You Are a Light (Live) #
4. Folk Jam (Live) #
5. Sinister Purpose (Live) #

#= previously unreleased
2xCD features 1999 album sequence

Artist: Pavement
Label: Matador
Catalogue: OLE1799LP
Barcode: 191401179911
Format: 4LP or 2CD
Release Date: 8th April 2022

This product is a pre order and is scheduled to be released 8th April 2022.

This product is available on preorder with a limited discounted price.


Preorder FAQs

When is this released?

Pavement - Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal [Special Edition Reissue] is available for preorder now and has a scheduled release date of 8th April 2022. In the event of any delays to this date, we will try to keep this page updated, specifically in the 'release updates' tab. Sadly, we are seeing a lot of date changes in 2022 so please bear with us.

When will I get it?

So long as there are no delays in the manufacturing and distribution processes that would delay the release as scheduled, we aim to ship it to you to arrive on or as close as possible to release day.

Please note, If you make a purchase that includes a preorder item together with an in-stock item in the same order, we will typically hold your box until all items are in stock before we ship. You can read more about our shipping policies here.

What is the discount?

Pavement - Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal [Special Edition Reissue] is listed at a special discounted pre order price (usually between 10-15 percent) that will revert to full price during the week of release.


Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch.

Read More.

Click & Collect

On all orders, we offer a Click & Collect option for you to come and collect your order in Totnes. You will be offered shipping and click & collect options during the checkout process.

Contact Drift

Royal Mail Tracked®

✔️ End-to-end tracking
✔️ SMS or email notifications
✔️ 48 hour delivery aim
✔️ Compensation cover up to £100
✔️ Change your delivery options before delivery is attempted

Read More

Drift Playlist

Drift Recommends

Alongside a weekly playlist of new and old tracks (tune in via the news section), all of the Drift staff also contribute to a weekly 'Drift Recommends' playlist.

Updated every Friday, it's full of new tracks that we love, absolute bangers that have popped back into our heads and all sorts of other weird avenues. It is supposed to sound a little bit like that feeling of walking through the door at Drift.

You can subscribe to it via our Spotify public profile.


No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty