Basket 0

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are €85 away from free shipping.
No more products available for purchase

Leave a note for us...
Leave a gift message
View Basket
Continue to the checkout to apply any gift cards or discount codes and to review shipping and collection options.

Your basket is empty

Various Artists - Mehmet Aslan Pres. Senza Decoro: Liebe Anarchia / Switzerland 1980-1990

Weird old Swiss sounds. A great vibe here with some real bangers.
Currently good stock Limited stock Currently unavailable
A new compilation explores the far reaches of the post-punk, experimental and electronic landscape in Switzerland on Senza Decoro: Liebe & Anarchia in Switzerland 1980-1990 curated by producer / DJ Mehmet Aslan.

During the mid-‘70s, Switzerland had embraced punk within its cities, informing the subsequent post-punk era of the 1980s as music splintered into freeform musical strands across the whole of the country. It was to become one of the most innovative periods in Switzerland’s modern day music history.

“It was like a wild laboratory for all forms of new and strange sounds, rackets and compositional experiments,” explains writer Lurker Grand, “accompanied and inspired by cutting-edge developments in electronic musical instruments. A broad, innovative scene developed and the four different language and cultural regions of Switzerland were no longer perceived to be an obstacle. There was a curiosity for the foreign and the strange. Conflicts for freedom and free spaces took place and this was reflected in the music.”

It was unfiltered creativity and this free, non-commercial approach is a common denominator for the songs on this compilation. Many artists operated in their own universe; hardly any of the acts on this album actually met each other at the time. Only Liliput from Zürich achieved notable fame, building on the success of their previous incarnation as Kleenex.

Although Swiss, some bands were based outside of the country and many brought in international elements to their music. Compiler Mehmet Aslan touches on this aspect; having grown up in Basel with Turkish heritage, he is now based in Berlin. His selection travels deep into obscure musical corners. Grand continues: “Mehmet’s selection is expansive. Christian Pfluger from Die Welttraumforscher sings about moon folklore, Jürg Nutz about a labyrinth, while Dr. Chattanooga & The Navarones found inspiration through African marabout business cards.”

Released as a gatefold LP and digipak CD, Senza Decoro includes two exclusive edits by Mehmet Aslan. Both formats feature in-depth sleeve notes and band interviews curated by Lurker Grand alongside rare photos and original sleeve artwork. The compilation is mastered and cut by The Carvery. Compilation and artwork courtesy of Mehmet Aslan.

1. Dr. Chattanooga & The Navarones – Kabyl Marabù
2. Mittageisen - Anfang
3. Elephant Château – Wir Fangen Mit Arbeit An
4. UnknownmiX – Nightmare
5. Aboriginal Voices – Le Jour L’Ennui
6. Café Türk – Söyledir
7. Lilliput – Boat-song
8. Bells Of Kyoto – Asho II
9. Schamanen Circel – Arbeiter (The Worker)
10. El Deux - Gletscher (Mehmet Aslan Edit)
11. KonX - …Basic Ground Without Voice… (Mehmet Aslan Edit)
12. Jürg Nutz – Labyrinth
13. Schaltkreis Wassermann – Arabesque
14. Die Welttraumforscher – Mondfolklore
15. Christine Scaller – L’Ombre Dorée du Scarabée Bleu

Released 20th October 2023

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.
Earn 1 Point on this purchase. Learn more
[{"variant_id":"46621874618652" , "metafield_value":""},{"variant_id":"46621874716956" , "metafield_value":""}]

Various Artists - Mehmet Aslan Pres. Senza Decoro: Liebe Anarchia / Switzerland 1980-1990

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just €85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...