Various Artists - First Class Rock Steady

Celebrating the 50th anniversary of the creation of Rocksteady, 17 North Parade presents First Class Rocksteady. Cherry picking a 24-track collection of pivotal selections. The collection captures early work from some of the genre’s defining artists including Lee “Scratch” Perry, The Techniques, Desmond Dekker, Johnny Nash and many others. 

1. Hold Them - Roy Shirley
2. I Am Lonely - The Heptones
3. Dance All Night - The Tartans
4. Rock Steady - Alton Ellis
5. Ba Ba Boom - The Jamaicans
6. Pata Pata Rock Steady - Count Ossie Band

1. You Don’t Care - The Techniques
2. Little Boy Blue - Pat Kelly
3. I’m A Loving Pauper - Dobby Dobson
4. Return Home - Alva Lewis
5. Just Like A River - Stranger Cole & Gladdy
6. El Casino Royale - Lynn Taitt & The Jets

1. The Beatitude - The Uniques
2. Revelation - Alva Lewis
3. A Change Is Gonna Come - Ken Parker & The Carib Beats
4. The Big Takeover - The Overtakers
5. I Am The Upsetter - Lee Perry
6. Musically - Keith Blake

1. Lonely Heartaches - The Clarendonians
2. Napoleon Solo - Lynn Taitt & The Jets
3. Intensified - Desmond Dekker & The Aces
4. Hold Me - Johnny Nash
5. Seeing Is Knowing - Stranger Cole & Gladdy
6. Darling Jeboza Macoo - Stranger Cole

Release Info

Release Date: 26th August 2016
Format: 2LP
Label: 17 North Parade

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.

EXPLORE Curated music collections, latest recommendations; everything that you need to know!

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just $85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend $85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty