This product is a Pre Order and is scheduled to be released 26th April 2024

This product is available on preorder with a limited discounted price.

Various Artists - ALFA/YEN Records 1980-1987: Techno Pop and Other Electronic Adventures in Tokyo


This product is available on pre order with a limited discounted price.


Recording technology was completely revolutionised in the 80s by the multitrack recorder, with the popularity of 24-channel SSL consoles sweeping the world. Japanese pop music created during this wave of digital improvement is now recognised worldwide as "City Pop." Techno Pop was another offshoot born of the same revolution. Precise, computer-controlled beats produced by groups like Yellow Magic Orchestra (YMO) introduced a different type of sound to the masses. By now, these works have been brought into the international limelight and continue to be a major influence on today's music.

At the centre of Tokyo’s Techno Pop scene was ALFA/YEN Records. The label left behind an impressive body of work, but much of it wasn't made widely available... until now! This new, definitive compilation focuses on the music archives of the YEN Records catalog, available for the first time exclusively at Light in the Attic. This is a true celebration of Japan's Techno Pop scene of the 80s, reissued with the intent that future generations, internationally, will be able to discover, enjoy, and appreciate ALFA/YEN and its significant contributions to the sonic landscape of the 80s and beyond.

ALFA/YEN: The label was established by Haruomi Hosono and Yukihiro Takahashi in May 1982, within Alfa Records. For Haruomi Hosono, it was a long-awaited label driven by producers and artists, and for Yukihiro Takahashi, he enjoyed experimenting with his works at a private studio. The label continued to release high-quality works not just by YMO and related artists but also unique artists such as Hajime Tachibana and Jun Togawa, and cutting-edge bands such as Testpattern and Interior. Unfortunately, the label ended in May 1985, but its success led to a later boom in indie labels, and it continues to have a profound impact on Japanese music.

⚠ Updates

Delayed | Originally 5th April, now expected 26th April.


• Light in the Attic World Exclusive (Including Japan).
• Japanese Import. Pressed on Black Double Vinyl. Non-Returnable.
• Featuring music by Yellow Magic Orchestra, Jun Togawa, Yukihiro Takahashi, Ryuichi
Sakamoto, and more!
• Tracks selections and liner notes by Hashim Kotaro Bharoocha.
• Mastering and cutting by Bernie Grundman.
• Art Direction by Takashi Okada.


1. Seoul Music - Yellow Magic Orchestra
2. Zoot Kook - Sandii
3. Sakisaka To Momonai No Gokigen Ikaga One Two Three - You An’ Me Orgasmus Orchestra
4. Drip Dry Eyes - Yukihiro Takahashi

1. Suki-Suki-Daisuki - Jun Togawa
2. Parallelisme - Miharu Koshi
3. Bikkuri Party No Theme - Haruomi Hosono & Yukihiro Takahashi
4. Sakasa Kenjin Eagas - Apogee & Perigee
5. Yumemiru Yakusoku - Haruomi Hosono
6. Rock - Hajime Tachibana

1. Riot In Lagos - Ryuichi Sakamoto
2. Radarman - Jun Togawa
3. Platonic - Haruomi Hosono
4. Beat The Rap- Super Eccentric Theater
5. Rap Phenomena - Yellow Magic Orchestra

1. Lexington Queen - Ryuichi Sakamoto
2. Chanel No #5 No On The Rock - Sheena
3. Beach Girl - Testpattern
4. Flashback - Yukihiro Takahashi
5. Automne Dans Un Miroir - Tamao Koike
6. Ascending - Interior

Release Info

Release Date: 26th April 2024
Format: 2LP
Label: Light In The Attic

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked® and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.

Pre Order FAQ

When is this released?

Various Artists - ALFA/YEN Records 1980-1987: Techno Pop and Other Electronic Adventures in Tokyo is available for Pre Order now and has a scheduled release date of 26th April 2024.

In the event of any delays to this date, we will try to keep this page updated in the '⚠ Updates' tab.

When will I get it?

We ship pre order items to arrive with you on or as close as possible to release day. We are limited naturally by when the stock arrives with us in Totnes, but we work hard to ship them in a timely fashion.

⚠ If you make a purchase from Drift that includes both Pre Order titles and in-stock titles, we will ship your entire order as one when all items are released. Read More.

What is the discount?

Every Pre Order product has a discount of between 10% and 15%. This is already factored into the price and will revert to full RRP during the week of release.


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend $85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty