Basket 0

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are $85 away from free shipping.
No more products available for purchase

Leave a note for us...
Leave a gift message
View Basket
Continue to the checkout to apply any gift cards or discount codes and to review shipping and collection options.

Your basket is empty

Various Artists - Eccentric Soul: Consolidated Productions Vol. 1

28 smouldering R&B cuts
Currently good stock Limited stock Currently unavailable

Operating in the farthest margins of L.A.’s cutthroat music business from 1961-1991, Mel Alexander’s Consolidated Productions was among the longest running Black-owned independent record conglomerates of the 20th century. Caught up in a confusing web of imprints - including Ajax, A ngel Town, Car-A-Mel, Emanuel, and Kris - this first volume gathers 28 smouldering R&B cuts by the likes of Lee Harvey, B.B. Carter, Marilyn Calloway, Del Reys, Deb Tones, De Velles, Gene Russell’s Trio, Jimmy “Preacher” Ellis, and Ty Karim.


+ Remastered from the original 1/4” tapes.

+ Includes carefully researched annotation, discography, and pho tographs from a vital producer.

Edition Info

• Available in limited 'Car-A-Mel' (opaque tan) coloured vinyl.


1. James Foster & The L.A. Untouchables - The Time Has Come
2. The Del-Reys - Don’t You Know
3. The L.A Untouchables - Money Man
4. Spider Walker - I’m Mad
5. The Del-Reys - Walk Proud
6. Billy Williams - So Called Friend (Oh! What A Friend)
7. Ty Karim - Lighten Up Baby

1. B.B. Carter - Cool It Baby
2. Marilyn Calloway & The 4-Silvertones - My Lover
3. Deb Tones & The Del-Reys - Knock On Wood
4. The De Velles - Misery
5. Ann Stacy - Don’t You Fool Me
6. B.B. Carter - Leave Me Alone
7. Marilyn Calloway & The 4-Silvertones - Shut Up (Demo)

1. Jimmy “Preacher” Ellis -(C’mon) Dance To The Drumbeat
2. The LA Untouchables- Acey Deucey
3. Gene Russell’s Trio - Doin’ The Snake Hips
4. The De Velles - Let’s Do The Hunch
5. Gene Russell’s Trio - Jet Set
6. Dynamic Duo and The Penguiness - Turkey Trot
7. Gene Russell’s Trio - Foggy Bottom

1. Lee Harvey - Only True Love
2. Lee Harvey - Need Of Love
3. Lee Jones - I Got To See My Baby
4. Lee Harvey - Prove It
5. Lee Harvey and The L.A. Untouchables - My Assurance
6. Lee Harvey and The L.A. Untouchables - If I’m Dreaming
7. Lee Harvey - False Pride

Released 5th April 2024

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.
Earn 1 Point on this purchase. Learn more
[{"variant_id":"47727994929436" , "metafield_value":""},{"variant_id":"47727994962204" , "metafield_value":""}]

Various Artists - Eccentric Soul: Consolidated Productions Vol. 1

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just $85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...