Lightnin' Hopkins - Blues In My Bottle

The late great Lightnin’ Hopkins was one of the most natural of bluesmen - a poet who would often make up lyrics as he recorded. Because his meters and chord changes were frequently irregular, he was at his best when unaccompanied, as on this 1961 Prestige date. Besides such blues standards as “Wine Spodee-O-Dee,” Blues in the Bottle, and “Catfish Blues,” the album contains several autobiographical originals, including “Beans, Beans, Beans” about his brief stint on a railroad track gang and “D-7” about his aversion to flying. Though he usually played electric guitar, the Texas blues titan performed here with an acoustic and the result was most rewarding.

1. Buddy Brown's Blues
2. Wine Spodee-o-dee
3. Sail On, Little Girl, Sail On
4. DC 7
5. Death Bells

1. Goin' To Dallas To See My Pony Run
2. Jailhouse Blues
3. Blues In The Bottle
4. Beans, Beans, Beans
5. Catfish Blues
6. My Grandpa Is Old Too!

Release Info

Release Date: 2018
Format: LP
Label: Ace Records

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.

EXPLORE Curated music collections, latest recommendations; everything that you need to know!

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just $85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend $85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty