February Record of the Month: Yo La Tengo - This Stupid World

Pre Order - Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Lankum, Yves Tumor, SAULT, HMLTD, The National, Eddie Chacon, Heartworms, Rose City Band, Sleaford Mods, Autobahn, Ulrika Spacek, Pozi, Autechre, Fenne Lily, James Holden, Altın Gün and more...

Cowbell - Waiting For Yesterday

Cowbell - Waiting For Yesterday

Subscription Save

New LP of breezy Rock N Roll vibes from the excellent Cowbell.


+ Super limited pressing.

Waiting For Yesterday is the fourth Cowbell LP. This time we are joined by some old friends to add a coat of sonic luxury to our usual stripped- back garage sound. Recorded fast and loose over sessions in the old world back in 2018 and 2019, it’s a record crammed with nostalgia, memories and fleeting hints of regret. The title track makes even more sense to me now than it did back then.

We’d journeyed into the more psych/soul realm with our last record Haunted Heart but these new songs really hit their stride with the expanded band, particularly on our very own lost Northern Soul ballad “Throw It All Away” and “Got Me You Where You Want Me” where a Curtis Mayfield inspired guitar leans on a loose Bill Withers style groove. There’s something of a West Coast sleazy & breezy feel and a cinematic aura to tracks like “Be My Man” and “Garage Flowers” where Wednesday takes the lead vocals.

Waiting For Yesterday was recorded at the The Cube studio in Stoke Newington, London with Laurie Sherman. We’d rehearse and record four new songs each day, and despite having never played together before, we hit the ground running, taking just three days to track the entire album. Finding our sound so quickly was useful in a small hot studio, not least as Wednesday, behind the drums, was heavily pregnant at the time. Sometimes energy and passion can be inspired by the most practical necessities.

Tom Wright plays Bass, and Fabio D’agostini is on Lead Guitar. The artwork is by Jaime Zuverza - an Austin based artist and musician who stitched together all the themes from the record and brought them to life in one incredible cover.

The music is available digitally through Damaged Goods Records and a very Limited Edition of 200 LPs on our own imprint Cool Jerk Records.

- Jack Sandham, May 2021

Waiting For Yesterday
In Deep
When I Call Your Name Garage Flowers Throw It All Away
In Your Blood Moving On
Got Me Where You Want Me Be My Man
Ain't Meant To Be
Is It Love?
Artist: Cowbell
Label: Cool Jerk Records
Catalogue: CJR002
Barcode: 5020422056336
Format: Ltd LP
Release Date: 25th June 2021

Shipping Info

Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch.

Read More.

Click & Collect

On all orders, we offer a Click & Collect option for you to come and collect your order in Totnes. You will be offered shipping and click & collect options during the checkout process.

Contact Drift

Royal Mail Tracked®

✔️ End-to-end tracking
✔️ SMS or email notifications
✔️ 48 hour delivery aim
✔️ Compensation cover up to £100
✔️ Change your delivery options before delivery is attempted

Read More


Drift Recommends

Alongside a weekly playlist of new and old tracks (tune in via the news section), all of the Drift staff also contribute to a weekly 'Drift Recommends' playlist.

Updated every Friday, it's full of new tracks that we love, absolute bangers that have popped back into our heads and all sorts of other weird avenues. It is supposed to sound a little bit like that feeling of walking through the door at Drift.

You can subscribe to it via our Spotify public profile.