Record Store Day 2023 Read More

Pre Order - Black Country, New Road, Big Star, Protomartyr, Alison Goldfrapp, Benefits, Talking Heads ...  Read More

March Record of the Month: H.Hawkline - Milk For Flowers.

Fryars - God Melodies

Fryars - God Melodies

Subscription Save

First new album in six years from Fryars.


Fryars - dubbed the “mad professor of pop” by the FADER - is the musical brainchild of Benjamin Garrett, whose peerless sound has won him fans from Kanye West to Lily Allen to Depeche Mode. Following the buzz around his early work, Fryars released his debut album Dark Young Hearts in 2009, while his second studio album Power - a journey through the imagination built around a story that spans three continents and deals with all the deliciousness of life; love, greed, loss and death - arrived 5 years later through a plethora of difficulties to critical acclaim. Dazed called it “a dazzling electro-pop construct”, while The Guardian praised Fryars for “mixing regret and basic human desires to create something strangely uplifting”. Since the release of Power, Garrett has worked extensively with Lily Allen, co-writing tracks on her number one album Sheezusand 2018’s Mercury nominated No Shame, as well as writing and producing for Rae Morris’ acclaimed 2018 record Someone Out There.

+ Both LP formats are pressed on Heavyweight vinyl. The indie shop exclusive edition is pressed on Gold colour vinyl.

Written, Produced and Performed by Fryars
Guru, Collaborator in Chief, Arrangements, String Arrangements, Musical Direction
and Additional Production - Sean O’Hagan
Recorded at Schmotown, London and Mike’s, Laurel Canyon
Strings and Drums recorded by Andy Ramsay at Press Play, London
Additional Piano recorded by Chris Taylor at Bluebarn, Little Downham, Ely
Mixed by Matt Wiggins
Mix Assistant – Paul Carr
Mastered by Matt Colton at Metropolis Studios, London

Side A
1. God Melodies
2. Moscow (feat. Rae Morris)
3. 49
4. Pair of Dancers
5. Lionel
6. Orange Juice

Side B
1. I Won’t Hurry Love
2. Your Parade
3. Wonder
4. Feeling Lonely Is A Shadowy Glow
5. Quail’s Egg No. 1 in C Sharp Major
Artist: Fryars
Label: Fiction Records
Catalogue: FCORP10
Barcode: 0602435840116
Format: LP or CD
Release Date: 16th July 2021

Shipping Info

Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch.

Read More.

Click & Collect

On all orders, we offer a Click & Collect option for you to come and collect your order in Totnes. You will be offered shipping and click & collect options during the checkout process.

Contact Drift

Royal Mail Tracked®

✔️ End-to-end tracking
✔️ SMS or email notifications
✔️ 48 hour delivery aim
✔️ Compensation cover up to £100
✔️ Change your delivery options before delivery is attempted

Read More


Drift Recommends

Alongside a weekly playlist of new and old tracks (tune in via the news section), all of the Drift staff also contribute to a weekly 'Drift Recommends' playlist.

Updated every Friday, it's full of new tracks that we love, absolute bangers that have popped back into our heads and all sorts of other weird avenues. It is supposed to sound a little bit like that feeling of walking through the door at Drift.

You can subscribe to it via our Spotify public profile.