Swans - The Beggar

Swans present their sixteenth studio album The Beggar.
The Beggar was written and produced by founding member Michael Gira and features contributions from recent and former Swans members, members of Angels Of Light, as well as guest Swan Ben Frost.

Following 2019’s leaving meaning, the album emerged from the 2020 lockdown with Micheal explaining, “after numerous pandemic-induced cancellations of tours for the previous Swans album leaving meaning, and an apparent bottomless pit of waiting, waiting, waiting, and the strange disorientation that came with this sudden but interminable forced isolation I decided it was time to write songs for a new Swans album and forget about everything else. They came relatively easily, always informed by the suspicion that these could be my last. When I finally was able to travel, songs in hand, to Berlin to work with my friends recording this record, the feeling was akin to the moment in The Wizard of Oz when the film changes from Black and White to Color. Now I’m feeling quite optimistic. My favourite color is pink. I hope you enjoy the album.”

Available on double vinyl (including download code with bonus track) and double CD.

2LP - Packaged in brown chipboard sleeve with poster and lyric sheet. Includes download code with bonus track.

2CD - Packaged in brown chipboard digi-pack with bonus CD with additional track. Includes lyrics.


A1. Paradise is Mine
A2. The Beggar

B1. Los Angeles: City of Death
B2. The Parasite
B3. The Memorious

C1. Michael is Done
C2. Why Can't I Have What I Want Any Time That I Want
C3. Unforming

D1. Ebbing
D2. No More of This

The Beggar Lover (Three)

1. The Parasite
2. Paradise Is Mine
3. Los Angeles: City of Death
4. Michael is Done
5. Unforming
6. The Beggar
7. No More Of This
8. Ebbing
9. Why Can't I Have What I Want Any Time That I Want?

1. The Beggar Lover (Three)
2. The Memorious

Release Info

Release Date: 23rd June 2023
Format: 2LP or 2CD
Label: Mute

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked® and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.
"The 44 minutes of brooding menace that make up The Beggar aren’t for the faint hearted..."
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

EXPLORE Curated music collections, latest recommendations; everything that you need to know!

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just $85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend $85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty