The Wire - Issue 440

The Wire - Issue 440

Subscription Save


Inside this issue:

The Arkestra: Sonny Blount may have passed into the ether but his spirit lives on as The Arkestra prepare to release a brand new album. Plus: Sun Ra on celluloid and a guide to recent archive releases. By John Morrison, Ken Hollings and Chris Trent

The Primer: Fugazi: A user’s guide to the recordings, precursors and offshoots of the DC posthardcore institution and its consituent members. By Joe Thompson

C-drík: Musician, curator and networker Cedrik Fermont forges connections between experimental music scenes in Asia, Africa and the Middle East. By Ziad Nawfal

Invisible Jukebox: Áine O’Dwyer × Graham Lambkin: Will the Anglo-Irish underground duo run (shadow) rings around one another with their mystery record selections?

GLOR1A: The multimedia performer reroutes surveillance capital. By Emily Pothast

thingNY: The cross-disciplinary performance collective float free of historical context. By George Grella

AMMAR 808: The Tunisian producer forges collaborative sonic fictions. By Francis Gooding

Alligator Gozaimasu: Reactivated virtual project makes a virtue of its connections and mistakes. By Abi Bliss

Global Ear: Our regular column continues to report on music in the time of pandemic. This month: clubbing (or not) in Berlin, and recording (or not) in Southend-on-Sea

The Inner Sleeve: Lucy Railton on Pauline Oliveros’s Ghostdance

Epiphanies: Danny Wolfers aka Legowelt finds excitement in obsolete computer systems

Unlimited Editions: KRAAK

Unofficial Channels: Music Newsletters

Print Run: Retreat: How The Counterculture Invented Wellness by Matthew Ingram; In And Out Of Phase: An Episodic History Of Art And Music In The 1960s by Michael Maizels; An Uncommon Music For The Common Man by Edwin Prévost; Stay Fanatic!!! Hectic Expectorations For The Music Obsessive Vol 1 by Henry Rollins; Desert Plants: Conversations With American Musicians by Walter Zimmermann; Sound American #24: The Sun Ra; Issue edited by Nate Wooley; Sun Ra’s Chicago: Afrofuturism And The City by William Sites; The Music Finds A Way: A PAPA/UGMAA Oral History Of Growing Up In Postwar South Central Los Angeles edited by Steven L Isoardi; The Folk Singers And The Bureau by Aaron J Leonard; King Tubby: The Dubmaster by Thibault Ehrengardt

On Screen: Scott Crawford CREEM: America’s Only Rock ’N’ Roll Magazine

On Location: Club Matryoshka x CTM, Twitch/Discord livestream, Minecraft; Alarm Will Sound: Video Chat Variations, New York, US/online; Sorrow Club: Requiem For Self-Isolation 2nd Show, YouTube/Twitch; Mopomoso: Edition Two, Various locations/YouTube; Shabaka Hutchings & Stop The War, Total Refreshment Centre, London, UK/YouTube; Alone Together: Socially Distanced Improvisations, YouTube; Seiichi Yamamoto & Yuko Mohri, Sony Ginza Park, Tokyo, Japan/YouTube; Matthew Shipp/Bobby Kapp/William Parker,; Yo La Tengo, Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art, North Adams, US

On Site: Olivia Louvel The Sculptor Speaks

Soundcheck: Derek Baron, Bent Arcana, Botany, Lauren Bousfield, André Bratten, Alan Braufman, Thanos Chrysakis & Chris Cundy, AG Cook, Coral Club, Damaged Bug, Sarah Davachi, Brigid Dawson & The Mothers Network, Tashi Dorji, Tashi Dorji & Tyler Damon, Bob Dylan, Etrusca 3D, Figueroa, FSQ, Ekin Fil, Bill Frisell, Hauras, Tyler Higgins, Pierre Henry, Hifiklub/Matt Cameron/Daffodil/Reuben Lewis, Hifiklub & Roddy Bottum, Rui Ho, Imperial Triumphant, Eiko Ishibashi, Jazz Sabbath, Jonnine, Konstrukt & Otomo Yoshihide, V Kristoff, Lafawndah, Legowelt, Marcela Lucatelli, Magik Markers, Makaya McCraven, Drew McDowall, Anders Lauge Meldgaard, Mosses & Lichens, Muqata’a, Network Glass, Nitework, No Home, Merlin Nova, The Ocean, Jesse Osborne-Lanthier, OSEES, Sammy Osmo, Marta De Pascalis, Piezo, Matthew Revert, The Ridiculous Trio, Royal Flush, Terje Rypdal, Scanner, Scattered Order, Shabjdeed & Al Nather, Shakey, Matthew Shipp Trio, Richard Skelton, Gabriella Smart, Smudge All Stars, Spires That In The Sunset Rise, Sumac, They Hate Change, Jobina Tinnemans, David Toop, Tricky, Anne Waldman, Dan Weiss Starebaby, Jacob Wick & Brad Henkel, Al Wootton, XYR, Various First Steps

The Boomerang: Admas, David Bowie, Bushpilot, Mort Garson, Ataraxia, Lucifer, Beverly Glenn-Copeland, Robert Coyne & Jaki Liebezeit, Valentina Goncharova, Milford Graves & Don Pullen, Infinite Livez, Lolivez, Busi Mhlongo, Joe McPhee, The Psychodaisies, Dudu Pukwana & The Spears, Don Weller’s Major Surgery, Yellow Swans, Zorro Five, Various Cleveland Confidential, Various The Harry Smith B-Sides, Various Too Much Future: Punkrock GDR 1980–1989
Artist: The Wire
Label: The Wire
Catalogue: 977095206812010
Barcode: 977095206812010
Format: Magazine
Release Date: October 2020

Shipping Info

Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch.

Read More.

Click & Collect

On all orders, we offer a Click & Collect option for you to come and collect your order in Totnes. You will be offered shipping and click & collect options during the checkout process.

Contact Drift

Royal Mail Tracked®

✔️ End-to-end tracking
✔️ SMS or email notifications
✔️ 48 hour delivery aim
✔️ Compensation cover up to £100
✔️ Change your delivery options before delivery is attempted

Read More


Drift Recommends

Alongside a weekly playlist of new and old tracks (tune in via the news section), all of the Drift staff also contribute to a weekly 'Drift Recommends' playlist.

Updated every Friday, it's full of new tracks that we love, absolute bangers that have popped back into our heads and all sorts of other weird avenues. It is supposed to sound a little bit like that feeling of walking through the door at Drift.

You can subscribe to it via our Spotify public profile.


No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty