Tony Allen - There Is No End
Tony Allen - There Is No End

Tony Allen - There Is No End

Subscription Save

An experimental and deeply creative farewell to one of the greatest.


The wisdom of Tony Allen's words was as deep as his grooves, and these two sentences, which announce the dozen songs that follow, truly capture the spirit of There is No End. Tony’s motivating concept and desire was to work with younger artists, and especially the new generation of rappers, and give them voice in a time of global turmoil when music has never been more important – not necessarily as a "weapon" for the future in the manner of Fela's violently political songs, but also as medicine to heal a fractured world today.

For all those who knew him, he was a deeply spiritual man whose life's mission was not just to create a new musical language, but to pass it on to subsequent generations. In thinking back on the incredible process of creating this album without Tony physically present to guide him, producer Vincent Taeger remarked that his friend and mentor "was a teacher without speaking... a drummer and a guardian, with a great artistic vision and that vision filled the songs even after he had left us."

Ben Okri, like everyone else involved in this valedictory album, had a very similar experience, declaring in awe that "this man could have lived another 150 years and kept creating new worlds. He had become the master shaman of his art. He knew himself and his mind. He wanted the album to be open to the energies of a new generation... but like a great mathematician or scientist who found a code of for a new world, with just a few beats, he created this extraordinary canvas."

Featured artists include Skepta, Sampa The Great, Lava La Rue, Danny Brown, Damon Albarn and many others. 

1. There Is No End
2. Rich Black Feat. Koreatown Oddity
3. Coonta Kinte Feat. Zelooperz
4. One Inna Million Feat. Lava La Rue
5. Stumbling Down Feat. Sampa The Great
6. Crushed Grapes Feat. Lord Jah-Monte Ogbon
7. Gang On Holiday (Em I Go We?) Feat. Jeremiah Jae
8. Mau Mau Feat. Nah Eeto
9. Très magnifique Feat. Tsunami
10. Hurt Your Soul Feat. Nate Bone
11. Cosmosis Feat. Ben Okri + Skepta
12. My Own Feat. Marlowe

Artist: Tony Allen
Label: Blue Note
Catalogue: 3541180
Barcode: 0602435411804
Format: 2LP or CD
Release Date: 7th May 2021
"More cohesive than many a posthumous release, Allen’s legacy is well-served here, especially on the more experimental tracks"

Shipping Info

Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch.

Read More.

Click & Collect

On all orders, we offer a Click & Collect option for you to come and collect your order in Totnes. You will be offered shipping and click & collect options during the checkout process.

Contact Drift

Royal Mail Tracked®

✔️ End-to-end tracking
✔️ SMS or email notifications
✔️ 48 hour delivery aim
✔️ Compensation cover up to £100
✔️ Change your delivery options before delivery is attempted

Read More


Drift Recommends

Alongside a weekly playlist of new and old tracks (tune in via the news section), all of the Drift staff also contribute to a weekly 'Drift Recommends' playlist.

Updated every Friday, it's full of new tracks that we love, absolute bangers that have popped back into our heads and all sorts of other weird avenues. It is supposed to sound a little bit like that feeling of walking through the door at Drift.

You can subscribe to it via our Spotify public profile.