Basket 0

Votre commande est qualifié pour la livraison gratuite You are €85 away from free shipping.
Plus de produits disponibles à l'achat

Ajouter des notes de commande
Est-ce un cadeau?
Sous-total Gratuit
Voir le panier
hors taxes et frais de livraison

Votre panier est vide.

VA / Soul Jazz Records Presents - Studio One Down Beat Special

L'article est en stock Dépêchez-vous ! Faible inventaire L'article est en rupture de stock L'article n'est pas disponible

Soul Jazz RecordsDown Beat Special is a rollercoaster Greatest Hits ride through many of the all-time classic tunes hand-picked from across the mighty vaults of, without doubt, Jamaica’s finest ever record label and pioneering powerhouse of reggae music.


Seminal tracks such as Michigan and Smiley’s ‘Nice Up The Dance’, Dawn Penn’s ‘No, No, No’, The Wailers’ ‘Simmer Down’, The Eternals’ ‘Queen of the Minstrels’… and on it goes. Non-stop big tunes - ‘Down Beat Special’ is an essential primer to Studio One Records. Featuring The Skatalites, Jackie Mittoo, Bob Marley & The Wailers, Horace Andy, Alton Ellis, Lone Ranger and many more, the album features rare and classic tracks throughout.


Originally released as a one-off pressing limited edition (long-since deleted) 7” box set, this new edition is fully remastered and expanded to a massive 18 rare and killer cuts from the Studio One empire.

Newly commissioned sleevenotes by Noel Hawks (History of the Jamaican Recording Industry) featuring a track by track historical and musical analysis, label scans and more added to this fantastic collection


1. The Eternals - Queen Of The Minstrels
2. Michigan And Smiley - Nice Up The Dance
3. The Mad Lads - Ten To One
4. Jackie Mittoo - Totally Together
5. Horace Andy - Just Say Who
6. The Skatalites - Addis Ababa
7. Sugar Minott - Live Loving
8. Lone Ranger - Can't Stand It
9. Wailing Souls - I've Got A Burning Fire
10. Bob Marley And The Wailers - Simmer Down
11. Dub Specialist - Hooligan
12. Alton Ellis - Your Heart Is Gonna Pay
13. Roland Alphonso - Do It Good
14. Wailing Souls - You Should Have Known
15. Dawn Penn - No No No
16. Freddie McKay - You'll Be Sorry
17. Alton Ellis - We Need Love
18. Cornel Campbell - Best To Be Free

Released 29th March 2024

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.
Earn 1 Point on this purchase. Learn more
[{"variant_id":"47790333886748" , "metafield_value":""},{"variant_id":"47790333952284" , "metafield_value":""}]

VA / Soul Jazz Records Presents - Studio One Down Beat Special

Votre commande est qualifié pour la livraison gratuite You are just €85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...