Basket 0

Votre commande est qualifié pour la livraison gratuite You are €85 away from free shipping.
Plus de produits disponibles à l'achat

Ajouter des notes de commande
Est-ce un cadeau?
Sous-total Gratuit
Voir le panier
hors taxes et frais de livraison

Votre panier est vide.

Various Artists - ALFA/YEN Records 1980-1987: Techno Pop and Other Electronic Adventures in Tokyo

L'article est en stock Dépêchez-vous ! Faible inventaire L'article est en rupture de stock L'article n'est pas disponible
⚠ Updates

Delayed | Originally 5th April, now expected 26th April.

Recording technology was completely revolutionised in the 80s by the multitrack recorder, with the popularity of 24-channel SSL consoles sweeping the world. Japanese pop music created during this wave of digital improvement is now recognised worldwide as "City Pop." Techno Pop was another offshoot born of the same revolution. Precise, computer-controlled beats produced by groups like Yellow Magic Orchestra (YMO) introduced a different type of sound to the masses. By now, these works have been brought into the international limelight and continue to be a major influence on today's music.

At the centre of Tokyo’s Techno Pop scene was ALFA/YEN Records. The label left behind an impressive body of work, but much of it wasn't made widely available... until now! This new, definitive compilation focuses on the music archives of the YEN Records catalog, available for the first time exclusively at Light in the Attic. This is a true celebration of Japan's Techno Pop scene of the 80s, reissued with the intent that future generations, internationally, will be able to discover, enjoy, and appreciate ALFA/YEN and its significant contributions to the sonic landscape of the 80s and beyond.

ALFA/YEN: The label was established by Haruomi Hosono and Yukihiro Takahashi in May 1982, within Alfa Records. For Haruomi Hosono, it was a long-awaited label driven by producers and artists, and for Yukihiro Takahashi, he enjoyed experimenting with his works at a private studio. The label continued to release high-quality works not just by YMO and related artists but also unique artists such as Hajime Tachibana and Jun Togawa, and cutting-edge bands such as Testpattern and Interior. Unfortunately, the label ended in May 1985, but its success led to a later boom in indie labels, and it continues to have a profound impact on Japanese music.

Edition Info

• Light in the Attic World Exclusive (Including Japan).
• Japanese Import. Pressed on Black Double Vinyl. Non-Returnable.
• Featuring music by Yellow Magic Orchestra, Jun Togawa, Yukihiro Takahashi, Ryuichi
Sakamoto, and more!
• Tracks selections and liner notes by Hashim Kotaro Bharoocha.
• Mastering and cutting by Bernie Grundman.
• Art Direction by Takashi Okada.


1. Seoul Music - Yellow Magic Orchestra
2. Zoot Kook - Sandii
3. Sakisaka To Momonai No Gokigen Ikaga One Two Three - You An’ Me Orgasmus Orchestra
4. Drip Dry Eyes - Yukihiro Takahashi

1. Suki-Suki-Daisuki - Jun Togawa
2. Parallelisme - Miharu Koshi
3. Bikkuri Party No Theme - Haruomi Hosono & Yukihiro Takahashi
4. Sakasa Kenjin Eagas - Apogee & Perigee
5. Yumemiru Yakusoku - Haruomi Hosono
6. Rock - Hajime Tachibana

1. Riot In Lagos - Ryuichi Sakamoto
2. Radarman - Jun Togawa
3. Platonic - Haruomi Hosono
4. Beat The Rap- Super Eccentric Theater
5. Rap Phenomena - Yellow Magic Orchestra

1. Lexington Queen - Ryuichi Sakamoto
2. Chanel No #5 No On The Rock - Sheena
3. Beach Girl - Testpattern
4. Flashback - Yukihiro Takahashi
5. Automne Dans Un Miroir - Tamao Koike
6. Ascending - Interior

Released 26th April 2024

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.
Earn 1 Point on this purchase. Learn more
[{"variant_id":"47698594201884" , "metafield_value":""}]

Various Artists - ALFA/YEN Records 1980-1987: Techno Pop and Other Electronic Adventures in Tokyo

Votre commande est qualifié pour la livraison gratuite You are just €85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...