African Head Charge - Songs of Praise

  • African Head Charge - Songs of Praise

African Head Charge - Songs of Praise


Released6th March 2020
Catalogue ONULP50
Barcode 5060263722335

Originally issued in 1990 and considered by most fans to be AHC’s masterpiece. Religious chants set to an African dub backdrop of layered hand percussion, with a mighty sonic and great musicianship places the record in a unique place.
An outernational classic.

For this reissue the album has been expanded to a double LP with all the tracks from the original vinyl release plus bonus tracks previously only available on CD. Includes a download card for the full audio plus double-sided poster insert with excerpts from a new interview with band leader Bonjo Iyabinghi Noah. 

Tracks 1 - 8 comprise the original vinyl edition. Tracks 9 - 14 were part of the original CD edition. Tracks 15 & 16 added to the 2005 CD reissue. Track 17 is a version of Orderliness, Godliness, Discipline and Dignity released on a 7” single with Alan Vega and Alice Donut to accompany issue #12 of 'Sniffin’ Roc'k fanzine.

Side One:
1. Free Chant (Churchical Chant Of The Iyabinghi)
2. Orderliness, Godliness, Discipline And Dignity
3. Hymn
4. Dervish Chant

Side Two:
5. Hold Some More 
6. Healing Father
7. Healing Ceremony
8. Cattle Herders Chant

Side Three:
9. Ethiopian Praises
10. My God
11. Gospel Train
12. Chant For The Spirits
13. God Is Great

Side Four
14. Deer Spirit Song
15. Full Charge
16. Fullness
17. Special Mix

African Head Charge - Songs of Praise is currently priced at a special preorder rate and will revert to full price on release. The release date of 6th March 2020 is estimated and subject to change.

LabelOn-U Sound
Filed Under Indie & Alternative