Alex G

DSU [2020 Colour Repress]

  • Alex G - DSU [2020 Colour Repress]
9th October 2020 / Ltd LP / Lucky Number

Alex G

DSU [2020 Colour Repress]


Another chance to get in on the Philly G'ster wunderkind's album before his jangle went world-wide - and deservedly so - pressed on limited vinyl.

'DSU' is the incredible breakthrough fifth album from Alex G. and is now available on colour vinyl outside of the US for the first time.

+ Indie shop version LP is pressed on pink coloured vinyl and limited to just 300 copies.

The first of Alex’s records to be released internationally, in November 2014, 'DSU' presented a crossover moment for the prodigious Philadelphian songwriter, then still 21 years of age and a student at Temple University. Entirely self-recorded at home, almost exclusively solo, and, until then, all self-released and available only via Bandcamp, Alex had already built a fervent online cult fan-base before his fifth album landed to a wider audience, coupled with his first shows in the UK and Europe that winter.

Subsequent releases, including the first professionally mastered versions of earlier albums 'Trick' and 'Rules' in 2015, and his three follow up albums with Domino, have cemented him as one the best songwriters around. His fan-base, including the likes of Frank Ocean, continues to swell as more and more listeners discover his prolific back catalogue, with 'DSU' a firm favourite and those same fans voraciously sing back every lyric at his worship-like live shows.

Sonically, his palette fluctuates across highlights such as the rolling rhythms of album opener “After Ur Gone” to the distorted atmospherics of “Hollow” and lyrically each track on DSU, from the more intricate narrative of addictive highlight “Harvey” to the overtly questioning elements of album closer “Boy”, reveals just enough to embolden the listener to explore beneath its surface - making what they will of Alex's introspective musings.

1. After Ur Gone
2. Serpent Is Lord
3. Harvey
4. Rejoyce
5. Black Hair
6. Skipper
7. Axesteel
8. Sorry
9. Promise
10. Icehead
11. Hollow
12. Tripper
13. Boy
14. Soaker (Bonus Track)
15. Waiting For You (Bonus Track)

Format /Ltd LP
Released /9th October 2020
Catalogue / LUCKY71LPX
Barcode / 689492202910
Artist / Alex G
Label /Lucky Number
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...