Andrea Belfi - Strata

  • Andrea Belfi - Strata

Andrea Belfi - Strata


Released5th July 2019
Catalogue FLOAT2EP
Barcode 4012957450216

FLOAT presents the next release from drummer and composer Andrea Belfi following on from his 2017 debut album Ore. Strata is an organic evolution of the unique synthesis of hypnotizing drumming and ensnaring electronic patterns Belfi has become renowned for. Strata’s inception is due to Belfi’s playful experiments with Gnawa rhythms – a music tradition from North Africa that draws from ancient African spiritual and religious songs - with which Belfi created basic guide tracks that were later expanded upon. Strata’s remit expanded from these core rhythmic ideas into a mini-LP, spread across 6 tracks spanning 25 minutes. The introductory track, Shale, consists of melancholic synth counterpoint and soft drones. The title track Strata kicks in with suspenseful bleeps and restless hi-hats before pacey drums ramp up the tension toward explosive highpoints. Fault, a short interlude, features more meditative moments. Notably, this track sees Belfi playing a self-built Trimba, a triangular percussion ideated by legendary street musician Moondog.

Outcrop is built around a pulsating electronic dub beat. The drop of a syncopated kick and mounting polyrhythms underpin the solemn Ravine, before the album comes to a close with Plateau, a driving and sinister conclusion that revisits elements of Strata and the trippy momentum of the Gnawa rhythms. The internal structure of Strata is fittingly built on layers of repetitions and variations across all tracks: Shale, Strata, Fault and Plateau share the same harmonic and melodic structure, while Outcrop and Ravine are both explorations of the traditional song formula.

All tracks except for Plateau – which can be understood as a techno remix of Strata - were recorded as live studio takes incorporating the sound quality of the studio space. The album was recorded by Simon Goff at Vox Ton in Berlin and mixed by Rocco Marchi at Obst und Gemüse in Bologna. Capturing the impetus of Belfi’s formidable live performances, Strata’s skilfully builds up momentum to its explosive final release.

A1. Shale
A2. Strata
A3. Fault
B1. Outcrop
B2. Ravine
B3. Plateau
Artist Andrea Belfi