Angelo De Augustine


  • Angelo De Augustine - Tomb
18th January 2019 / CD & LP / Asthmatic Kitty

Angelo De Augustine



 Tomb is the new album from Angelo De Augustine, his first recorded in a studio and produced by renowned musician Thomas Bartlett (aka Doveman: credits include work on albums for St. Vincent, Sufjan Stevens, Glen Hansard, and Rhye).

+ Available on limited Red or Yellow vinyl pressings.

A quiet heartache threads through Tomb. It’s a universal feeling, the kind that piles up over the years and yearns for resolution. The 12 songs came together quickly, out of necessity, following his first true heartbreak around Christmas 2017  and while Tomb was born from this breakup, the album expanded to explore years of loss and disappointment. Throughout, De Augustine sings of his first love ('Tomb'), attempts to reconcile possible past mistakes ('You Needed Love, I Needed You'), and reckoning with how personal and familial history impacts present and future relationships ('Kaitlin',  'Bird Has Flown'). Like the best albums about heartbreak, Tomb transforms pain into beauty.

“This album is at its core a prayer for hope and clarity, and a prayer for love,” he says. Ultimately Tomb reflects a beginning for De Augustine - both emotionally and in his career. It’s a motion towards positivity, addressing lost love, the worthwhile cost of honesty, and the ramifications of regret. In the end, Tomb isn’t about burying or hiding something away, it’s about opening the seal and letting something new emerge. The album’s title reveals these sentiments: “Throughout our lives we bury many dead things in our hearts and minds,” he says. “There they go to rest and hopefully are reborn as something beautiful for the world to behold.”

1. Tomb
2. All To The Wind
3. You Needed Love I Needed You
4. I Could Be Wrong
5. Tide
6. Kaitlin
7. Time
8. Somewhere Far Away From Home
9. Wanderer
10. A Good Man’s Light
11. Bird Has Flown

Format /CD & LP
Released /18th January 2019
Catalogue / AKR138CD
Barcode / 656605366180
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...