Baxter Dury - Prince of Tears

  • Baxter Dury - Prince of Tears - Drift Records

Baxter Dury - Prince of Tears


FormatCD & LP
Released27th October 2017
Catalogue PIASLL101CD
Barcode 5414939965937

Fifth studio album from Baxter Dury, Prince of Tears  was recorded at the end of 2016 at Hoxa Studios and was co-produced by Baxter and Ash Workman (Metronomy) and mixed by longstanding collaborator Craig Silvey (Arcade Fire, New Order, Florence and the Machine).

 It is an intensely personal yet brutally open album and his most ambitious and biggest work to date. Whilst retaining the natty charm of his previous works, like his debut Len Parrot’s Memorial Lift or the acclaimed Happy Soup, Baxter this time worked with a full band and orchestra to truly bring the soundscapes of his emotional netherworld to life.

 The album features notable guests, including longstanding fan Jason Williamson from Sleaford Mods on the track Almond Milk and Rose Elinor Dougall on Porcelain, as well as long-term collaborator Madelaine Hart providing backing vocals across numerous tracks and illuminating some of the album’s dark corners.

‘The Album is full of little fictional snapshots based on actual experiences’, Baxter says of the ten songs. ‘They’re biographical film soundtracks for an imaginary film about myself, which is fictional. The man singing and speaking it all is unreliable; he can’t see the world properly. Its massively delusional, but because of that it’s also emotionally true’.

  1. Miami
  2. Porcelain
  3. Mungo
  4. Listen
  5. Almond Milk
  6. Letter Bomb
  7. Oi
  8. August
  9. Wanna
  10. Prince of Tears
Artist Baxter Dury
Filed Under Indie & Alternative