Biffy Clyro - Balance, Not Symmetry (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

  • Biffy Clyro - Balance, Not Symmetry (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Biffy Clyro - Balance, Not Symmetry (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)


Released26th July 2019
Catalogue 0190295460822
Barcode 0190295460822

Filmed in Scotland during Autumn, the ‘Balance, Not Symmetry’ film follows American student Caitlin (Laura Harrier) after her father’s funeral, leaving her grieving mother (Kate Dickie) behind to return to her third-year studies at the Glasgow School of Art. There she juggles her grief and end-of-year presentation with meeting a new guy, Rory (Scott Miller), and a rupture in her relationship with her housemate and BFF Hannah (Bria Vinaite). 

Regarding the collaboration, Simon Neil explains “On meeting Jamie, we realised early on that we’d both had to deal with grief at a relatively young age and so it was interesting to talk about how we’d both dealt with it and the effect it had on us – and this is the main crux of the film, delving into the lonely world of grief and loss and coming out the other side.”

While the collection often explores Biffy’s gift for arena-filling anthems on the likes of ‘All Singing and All Dancing’, ‘Tunnel and Trees’ and ‘Touch’, the album as a whole leans towards introspection and experimentation. The foreboding yet elegiac ‘Gates Of Heaven’ is quite unlike anything that the band have recorded before, ‘Colour Wheel’ switches to a more ethereal ambience and ‘Touch’ echoes the emotional power of previous Biffy classics such as ‘Many Of Horror’ and ‘Re-arrange’.

The album also includes three mood-setting instrumentals (‘Pink’, ‘Navy Blue’ and ‘Yellow’) plus a studio recording of ‘Different Kind of Love’, which originally featured on last year’s ‘MTV Unplugged’ album. It was co-produced by Adam Noble and Biffy Clyro, and recorded at AIR Studios, Monnow Valley Studio and ICP Studios.


Double LP 140g


1. ‘Balance, Not Symmetry’

2. ‘All Singing and All Dancing’

3. ‘Different Kind of Love’

4. ‘Sunrise’

5. ‘Pink’

6. ‘Colour Wheel’

7. ‘Gates of Heaven’

8. ‘Fever Dream’

9. ‘Navy Blue’

10. ‘Tunnels and Trees’

11. ‘Plead’

12. ‘The Naturals’

13. ‘Yellow’

14. ‘Touch’

15. ‘Jasabiab’

16. ‘Following Master’

17. ‘Adored’

Biffy Clyro - Balance, Not Symmetry (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) is currently priced at a special preorder rate and will revert to full price on release. The release date of 26th July 2019 is estimated and subject to change.

Artist Biffy Clyro
Filed Under Soundtracks