Bill Fay

Countless Branches

  • Bill Fay - Countless Branches
17th January 2020 / CD or LP / Dead Oceans

Bill Fay

Countless Branches


Bill Fay returns with the third album in the celebrated second phase of his recording career. A prime Fay song is a deceptively simple thing which carries more emotional weight than its concision and brevity might imply. There are ten of these musical haikus on Countless Branches, as pointed and as poignant as anything he’s ever recorded.

For decades now - it’s almost 50 years since he cut his classic albums “Bill Fay” and “Time of the Last Persecution” - songs like these have been Fay’s ambassadors helping rave reviews and endorsements from the likes of Jim O’Rourke (Tortoise) and Jeff Tweedy (Wilco) which led to a huge revival of interest in his music. He had continued to make music almost every day in the intervening decades. For Countless Branches he’s completed new toplines over some of his cache of backing tracks, most of them 20 to 40 years old.

Deluxe edition 2xLP set includes two exclusive tracks + a reworking of “Don’t Let My Marigolds Die.”

This is the third, and best, album from the celebrated second phase of Bill Fay’s career.

Vocal and enthusiastic fans include Nick Cave, The War on Drugs, Oneohtrixpointnever, Kevin Morby, Wilco, and many more.

Side A 
1. In Human Hands
2. How Long, How Long 
3. Your Little Face 
4. Salt Of The Earth 
5. I Will Remain Here 

6. Filled With Wonder Once Again 
7. Time’s Going Somewhere
8. Love Will Remain 
9. Countless Branches
10. One Life 

Deluxe LP - Side C 
1. Tiny - Bonus Track
2. Don’t Let My Marigolds Die (Live in Studio) - Bonus Track 
3. The Rooster - Bonus Track
4. Your Little Face (Acoustic Version) - Bonus Track

Deluxe LP - Side D
1. Filled With Wonder Once Again (Band Version) - Bonus Track 
2. How Long, How Long (Band Version) - Bonus Track 
3. Love Will Remain (Band Version) - Bonus Track 

Format /CD or LP
Released /17th January 2020
Catalogue / DOC211LP
Barcode / 656605151113
Artist / Bill Fay
Label /Dead Oceans
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...