Black Keys - Brothers

Out of Stock
  • Black Keys - Brothers - Drift Records

Black Keys - Brothers

Out of Stock

Catalogue VVR737198

Recorded at Alabama's legendary Muscle Shoals Sound with additional sessions at Dan Auerbach's Easy Eye Sound System in Akron and the Bunker in Brooklyn, 'Brothers' sees production duties handled by The Black Keys, along with shared duties between the band, Mark Neill, and their old friend Danger Mouse, who lends his skilled hands to a new track. Tchad Blake brings his sonic excellence into the fold to handle mixing duties?

Carney admits 'Brothers' is the album they've always wanted to make and taps into their creative force as a duo. "Dan and I grew up a lot as individuals and musicians prior to making this album. Our relationship was tested in many ways but at the end of the day, we're brothers, and I think these songs reflect that". The ghosts of Muscle Shoals inhabit Brothers? 15 tracks. Of the album, Auerbach says, "We like spooky sounds? like Alice Coltrane, where a dark groove is laid down. That's the headspace we tried to get into for this record".

The album includes the Danger Mouse-produced song 'Tighten Up' and a cover of the Jerry Butler classic 'Never Gonna Give You Up'.

1. Everlasting Light
2. Next Girl
3. Tighten Up
4. Howlin' For You
5. She's Long Gone
6. Black Mud
7. The Only One
8. Too Afraid To Love You
9. Ten Cent Pistol
10. Sinister Kid
11. Go Getter
12. I'm Not The One
13. Unknown Brother
14. Never Gonna Give You Up
15. These Days

Six albums in, The Black Keys are going stronger than ever - The Fly ****

marks the midway point between the garage-rock stylings of their first few albums and the hip-hop influence of last year's Blakroc side-project album - NME 8/10

Artist Black Keys
Filed Under Indie & Alternative