Black Pumas - Black Pumas

  • Black Pumas - Black Pumas

Black Pumas - Black Pumas


FormatCD & LP
Released7th February 2020
Catalogue ATO0500CDX
Barcode 5400863025403

++ LP: Deluxe red & black splatter, inc bonus CD and download
++ CD: inc bonus CD

In 2017, Grammy Award-winning guitarist/producer Adrian Quesada had some down time between projects. He started writing some songs in his Austin studio, bringing in friends to play, with no particular plans for the results. After he had a few instrumentals down, he started asking around for a vocalist—he knew a lot of singers, but was looking for something different, someone who wasn’t already entrenched in the Austin scene.

Meantime, Eric Burton had recently made his way to Texas. He started busking at the Santa Monica pier, where he brought in a few hundred dollars a day and developed his performance skills. Burton travelled through the Western states before deciding to settle down in Austin—setting up his busking spot on a downtown street corner, at 6th Street and Congress, for maximum exposure.

Weeks later, Quesada got a call out of the blue from someone named Eric Burton, who started singing over one of the tracks over the phone. “From the moment I heard him,” says Quesada, “I was all about it.”

The results of that inauspicious beginning can now be heard on the self-titled debut album from Black Pumas, the group that Quesada and Burton assembled, which has become one of the year’s most anticipated projects.

1. Black Moon Rising
2. Colors
3. Know You Better
4. Fire
5. OCT 33
6. Stay Gold
7. Old Man
8. Confines
9. Touch The Sky
10. Sweet Conversation

Bonus CD
Recorded Live at Arlyn Studios – Austin, TX
1. Black Moon Rising
2. Colors
3. Fire
4. Eleanor Rigby

Black Pumas - Black Pumas is currently priced at a special preorder rate and will revert to full price on release. The release date of 7th February 2020 is estimated and subject to change.

Artist Black Pumas
Filed Under Funk & Soul