Blue States

Nothing Changes Under the Sun [20th Anniversary Reissue]

Out of Stock
  • Blue States - Nothing Changes Under the Sun [20th Anniversary Reissue]
30th October 2020 / 2LP / Memphis Industries
“If the art of pop is to stay ahead of the game, Blue States should be leading the field”

Blue States

Nothing Changes Under the Sun [20th Anniversary Reissue]

Out of Stock

Reissue of multi-instrumentalist Andy Dragazis' debut, full of swooning cinematic vibes and lo-fi crunches.

Do you know that feeling when you first hear music, and you realise that you may have stumbled across something that will become a part of your life forever? Music that gradually unlocks those treasured endorphins and lets them loose to run throughout your very being. Blue States ‘Nothing Changes Under the Sun’ is one of those records, sounding as timeless and out of time today as it did on its first release twenty years ago.

+ Only the second vinyl pressing of the album since 2001 and comes with a limited edition bonus disc of previously unheard songs entitled “Trinity Tapes”.

+ Limited Blue and Yellow vinyl.

‘Nothing Changes…’ was created by Andy Dragazis, working in his bedroom, locked away with a rudimental little set up – a sampler, a sequencer, and a few keyboards. Andy confesses that he was far from certain what he was working on, but, encouraged by fledgling label Memphis Industries, he released a series of 12” EPs in 1998-99, each to increasing acclaim.

Complete artistic freedom can lead to self-indulgence and musical cul-de-sacs, but by the time ‘Nothing Changes…’ was released in September 2000, the results of Andy’s experimentation had been honed, refined into something very special indeed. A record that held its secrets close, ‘Nothing Changes…’ set Blue States apart from the downtempo contemporaries that were flourishing at the time, full of sweeping melancholia and glorious retro-futurism.

A1. Arion
A2. Diamente
A3. The Trainer Shuffle
B1. Stereo 99
B2. Spit and Soar
B3. Golden Touch
C1. Your Girl
C2. Looking Glass
C3. Theme from Within
D1. Elios Therepia
D2. Heroes' Elegy
D3. Cherio Manoli

Bonus indie only CD “Trinity Tapes”
1. Trinity
2. Aftermath
3. Fault Lines
4. Archival
5. Organ 09
6. Friendly Fires
Format /2LP
Released /30th October 2020
Catalogue / MI011LPX
Barcode / 5056340101506
Artist / Blue States
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.