Bon Iver - For Emma Forever ago

Out of Stock
  • Bon Iver - For Emma Forever ago - Drift Records

Bon Iver - For Emma Forever ago

Out of Stock

FormatCD & LP
Catalogue CAD2809

Every record comes out of a specific time and place, but that's more true of this one than most. At the end of 2006, Bon Iver's Justin Vernon spent 3 months alone in a log cabin in Northern Wisconsin, seeking silence, simplicity and solitude. The intention was to fill the time with physical chores - splitting wood, gathering food - but out of this period of isolation and contemplation, music started to emerge. The unexpected, triumphant result was an album of singular beauty.

These songs transcend the limited means - a couple of microphones, a baritone guitar, two drums, a horn and a reverb pedal - that Vernon had at his disposal. They unfurl with the quiet force of Spring, expanding beyond their hushed beginnings, throwing off vibrant colours.

1. Flume
2. Lump Sum
3. Skinny Love
4. The Wolves (Act I & II)
5. Blindsided
6. Creature Fear
7. Team
8. For Emma
9. re: Stacks

Wisconsin's Justin Vernon blazes a trail out of the wilderness with one of 2008's landmark records - Mojo (5/5 - Album of the Month)

A classic debut album - Uncut (5/5 - Album of the Month)

A minimalist masterpiece - The Sunday Times

Artist Bon Iver
Filed Under Indie & Alternative