Butterfly Child - Onomatopoeia

£3.99 £8.99
  • Butterfly Child - Onomatopoeia - Drift Records

Butterfly Child - Onomatopoeia

£3.99 £8.99

FormatCD & 2LP
Released12th January 2018
Catalogue EDDA45CD
Barcode 666017313429

In the early summer of 1993, Rough Trade released Onomatopoeia, the first album by Belfast native Joe Cassidy's Butterfly Child. Having first come to the public’s attention after a wave of press resulting from two EP's released on dream pop legends’ A.R.Kane’s H.Ark! label, an incendiary first BBC John Peel Session, and a UK tour supporting The Sundays, Cassidy recorded Onomatopoeia in a couple of weeks with the help of longtime friend and collaborator Gary McKendry of the now infamous Papa Sprain. Gleefully using a shoestring budget that felt like a 1 million dollar advance, Cassidy and McKendry bought an 8-track tape machine, a cheap drum machine, an even cheaper reverb unit, a second hand synthesizer, and a bunch of tea. They then proceeded into the album’s recording sessions with a classic Irish carefree attitude and confidence. As Cassidy recalled...

"I always felt that no matter how little audio equipment or musical instruments we had back then, that it was always possible to make something really special, despite our limitations. In fact, having extreme limitations often helped push us to get the most out of the solitary synth or the one bad drum machine with silly tom sounds that we had at our disposal. I love that the song Our Lady Mississipp, for example, is like the nursery school jazz version on the album, and then by the time we did the second Peel Session six months later, I had Pendle on guitar, James Harris on bass, and a fantastic drummer (Richie Thomas - Dif Juz/ Moose/ The Jesus And Mary Chain, This Mortal Coil), finally realizing what the adult version of that song could sound like.”

Part of Onomatopoeia’s charm that still holds true almost twenty-five years later is its child-like, timeless quality. It sounds nothing like anything of its time. It is a unique and beautiful collection of "almost songs" that flourish as a whole body of work that beg the listener to delve deeper, to get lost in it's lyrics, and to let its quiet roar all over you.

1) Ave
2) Our Lady Mississip
3) Lunar Eclipse
4) Who Said What To Whom
5) Young Virgins Call For Mutiny
6) X: Celcius
7) Cancer Killed Capricorn
8) Triumphant
9) Verte Ecole
10) Stars Light Up Orleans
11) Queen Glass
12) Eva

Filed Under Indie & Alternative