The Black Light [20th Anniversary Edition]

£3.99 £10.99
  • Calexico - The Black Light [20th Anniversary Edition]
23rd November 2018 / CD & LP / City Slang


The Black Light [20th Anniversary Edition]

£3.99 £10.99

Calexico’s classic album The Black Light turns 20 this year -  an album about crossing physical and metaphorical borders that has never been timelier.  This limited celebratory anniversary edition includes all new artwork by Victor Gastelum, extensive liner notes, and eleven bonus tracks.

What was surprising about The Black Light (and what set its architects apart from their indie rock peers) was the album’s unusual willingness to wade into the rapids of American and Mexican culture, fully immersing itself midstream. From the outset, with ‘Gypsy’s Curse’, the record combines guitar twang and flamenco flourishes; and by its end, almost an hour later, it’s contrived a skillful and instinctive union of smoky bar room jazz, arthouse indie rock, and compelling mariachi brass in ‘Frontera’. If Calexico falls short as a name, it’s only in the fact that - alongside their mining of Mexico’s fertile musical past - Joey Burns and John Convertino weren’t just digging into California’s songbook...they were unearthing America’s too.

The Double CD version comes in a 3-panel digipak case with a 24-page booklet. The second CD contains 11 bonus tracks.

The Double LP vinyl versions (black vinyl, and limited-edition clear vinyl) are pressed on heavy 180g vinyl and packaged in a gatefold cover with an embossed silver logo, a large format 8-page booklet, and a download coupon.

The Indies only 2LP version is on clear vinyl.

A1. Gypsy's Curse
A2. Fake Fur
A3. The Ride Pt.2
A4. Where Water Flows
A5. The Black Light
A6. Sideshow
A7. Chach
A8. Missing
B1. Minas De Cobre (For Better Metal)
B2. Over Your Shoulder
B3. Vinegaroon
B4. Trigger
B5. Sprawl
B6. Stray
B7. Old Man Waltz
B8. Bloodflow
B9. Frontera

Bonus Vinyl Side
C1. El Morro
C2. Man Goes Where Water Flows
C3. Glowing Heart Of The World
C4. Too Much Sprawl
C5. Rollbar
D1. Minas De Cobre (Extend-omix)
D2. Minas De Cobre (Spatial Mix)
D3. Minas De Cobre (Acoustic Mix)
D4. Lacquer
D5. Drape
D6. Bag Of Death

1. Gypsy's Curse
2. Fake Fur
3. The Ride Pt.2
4. Where Water Flows
5. The Black Light
6. Sideshow
7. Chach
8. Missing
9. Minas De Cobre (For Better Metal)
10. Over Your Shoulder

Format /CD & LP
Released /23rd November 2018
Catalogue / SLANG50166CD
Barcode / 4250506830441
Artist / Calexico
Label /City Slang
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...