Chastity Belt - Chastity Belt

  • Chastity Belt - Chastity Belt

Chastity Belt - Chastity Belt


FormatCD, LP & Cassette
Released20th September 2019
Catalogue HARCD117
Barcode 09878731123

Four piece band Chastity Belt (Julia Shapiro - vocals, guitar, drums, Lydia Lund - vocals, guitar, Gretchen Grimm - drums, vocals, guitar and Annie Truscott - bass) talk a lot about intention - how to be more present with each other,  they are nine years deep in this, after all. 

+ First 400 copies on UK Light Green Transparent vinyl

It seems now more than ever, that circuit is a movement of intentionality, one that creates a space, inside which they can be themselves, among themselves. It’s a space where the euphoria of making music with your best friends is protected from the outside world’s churning expect- ations. It’s a kind of safe zone for the band to occupy as their best selves: a group of friends who love each other.

Fourth album, self titled Chastity Belt, comes out of that safe space. After a restorative few months on hiatus in 2018, each member worked on solo material or toured with other bands. “So much of the break was reminding ourselves to stay present, and giving ourselves permission to stop without saying when were gonna meet up again,” says guitarist Lydia Lund. “It was so important to have that—not saying, ‘we’re gonna get back together at this point,’ but really just open it up so we could get back to our present connection.”

The new self-titled album is the work of the band playing “old songs, and trying new things on top of it” like adding more dynamic harmonies and violin, says bassist Annie Truscott. Lydia, Gretchen, and Julia all share lead vocals on different tracks on the album. The result is their most sonically developed and nuanced record yet.

1. Ann’s Jam (4:56)
2. Elena (3:20)
3. Effort (5:07)
4. Rav-4 (3:39)
5. It Takes Time (4:04)
6. Apart (3:33)
7. Half-Hearted (5:25)
8. Split (3:53)
9. Drown (4:06)
10. Pissed Pants (4:55)

LP includes mp3 download code

Artist Chastity Belt
LabelHardly Art
Filed Under Indie & Alternative