Choir Of Young Believers

This Is For The White In Your Eyes

£9.99 £19.99
  • Choir Of Young Believers - This Is For The White In Your Eyes
15th November 2019 / LP / Ghostly International

Choir Of Young Believers

This Is For The White In Your Eyes

£9.99 £19.99

Even though This Is for the White in Your Eyes, the full-length debut by Danish collective Choir of Young Believers, is teeming with instruments, voices, pianos, synthesisers, banjos, an orchestra’s ransom in strings and French horns, it’s not the arrangements that dominate so much as the images they conjure. Snow-flecked mountaintops, deserted city streets, ghost filled churches, a final kiss between estranged lovers - this is the emotional terrain trod by Jannis Joya Makrigiannis and his Choir of Young Believers. This Is for the White in Your Eyes is an album of orchestral indie-pop, but its artistic scope extends beyond melody and harmony: Choir of Young Believers paint cinematic tableaux, with Jannis cast as the silvery-voiced narrator.

Jannis produced This Is for the White in Your Eyes with his old friends and collaborators Anders Rhedin and Fridolin, constructing cavernous sound worlds around his own skeletal guitar and piano compositions. (“I don’t have a computer, so I almost never record demos,” Jannis says.) The song cycle begins on a somber note with the lonely piano atmospherics of  'Hollow Talk', a slow beginning builds towards a climax of machine-gun snares and sneering children’s choir. It’s followed by the soaring balladry of 'Next Summer' and the anthemic single, 'Action/Reaction'. Jannis’ voice is something to behold - a reverb-slicked, bell like tenor in the Neil Young mould and his golden pipes haunt the album, floating over 'Under the Moon' like a celestial body, riding the thundering piano notes of 'Claustrophobia', and rippling on the horizon of the country tinged 'Why Must It Always Be this Way'. And yet, for all of the record’s orchestral grandeur, there’s an icy Nordic remove running through This Is for the White in Your Eyes that keeps the overflowing emotions in check. In Choir of Young Believers’ hands, even the sweetest melodies carry a hollow, solitary mood that lingers long after the music has stopped.

++First time EVER on LP ++

and -  yes,  it has that song from the drama The Bridge on it

01. Hollow Talk
02. Next Summer
03. These Rituals of Mine
04. Action/Reaction
05. Under the Moon
06. Wintertime Love
07. She Walks
08. Why Must It Always Be This Way
09. Claustrophobia
10. Yamagata

Format /LP
Released /15th November 2019
Catalogue / GI89LP
Barcode / 804297908984
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...