Crooked Man - Crooked House

  • Crooked Man - Crooked House

Crooked Man - Crooked House


FormatCD or LP
Released26th October 2018
Catalogue DFA2616LP
Barcode 5413356001846

The elusive Crooked Man returns to DFA with the 'Crooked House' LP, a maximalist take on electronic and house music that picks up where 2016’s self-titled LP left off. Teaming up again with Michael Somerset Ward (Clock DVA) and David Lewin (Bleep & Booster) in the studio, Richard Barratt crafts a comprehensive journey of hi-fi house belters with more sinister electro-pop mixed in for good measure. 

The LP is influenced by two historic epicentres of electronic music: Sheffield, UK, where Richard has had an illustrious career in a mix of legendary groups like Funky Worm, Sweet Exorcist, and The All Seeing I; and the NYC Loft-era disco sound, where extended grooves were layered with peak-time choruses.

Speaking about the track ‘Take It All Away', Crooked Man says: “It’s about not being suffocated under the mountains of useless crap that Mammon shits into every crevice of modern life… quite possibly the world's only anti-consumerist disco song.”

Richard’s diverse collaborations and intensely prolific discography have now led him to records as lush and sophisticated as Crooked House. Considering the rarity of a live Crooked Man performance or DJ set, it’s a testament to his hyper-creativity that these tracks are able to reach new heights in a club setting. With support from disco historian Bill Brewster and NTS resident Ross Allen (not to mention ‘Echo Loves Narcissus’ being named #1 single of the year in 2017, before it was even properly released), it’s clear that 'Crooked House' brings a timeless vitality to the current landscape of dance music, and continues an exciting new chapter in Crooked Man’s career.

+ LP includes download code.

1. Every Killer Needs a Friend.
2. Here On Earth
3. Make Up
4. turnaround
5. Walls
6. Take It All Away
7. Long Time Dead
8. Echo Loves Narcissus
9. Robots

Artist Crooked Man
Filed Under Indie & Alternative