D.D Dumbo - Utopia Defeated

£6.99 £10.99
  • D.D Dumbo - Utopia Defeated - Drift Records

D.D Dumbo - Utopia Defeated

£6.99 £10.99

FormatCD & LP
Released7th October 2016
Catalogue CAD3616CD
Barcode 0652637361629

When Castlemaine’s Oliver Hugh Perry released his self-recorded debut EP, Tropical Oceans, D.D Dumbo was born. Led by the spooky strut of the title-track, the lo-fi four song-set of blues-laced, deconstructed pop, announced Perry as an exciting newcomer fluent in a language all his own. People took notice and soon he was performing solo with a 12-string electric guitar, two drums and a bunch of effect pedals, and on tour with the likes of Daughter, Iron & Wine, Jungle, St Vincent, Tame Impala, tUnE-yArDs, and Warpaint.

Utopia Defeated is his debut album – an epic, sprawling opus sprung from Oliver’s imagination that was written and performed almost entirely by him. Based in the 4AD Studios in London, the album was recorded, engineered and produced by Perry and 4AD’s resident engineer Fabian Prynn. Featuring the singles ‘Satan’ and ‘Walrus’, the ten-track album hurdles effortlessly over the expectations set by his intriguing debut EP.

In an early review, Uncut magazine heralded it as “a looping, globally attuned 2016 update of Jeff Buckley’s Grace”.

A1. Walrus
A2. Satan
A3. In The Water
A4. Cortisol
A5. Alihukwe
B1. King Franco Picasso
B2. The day I first found god
B3. Toxic City
B4. Brother
B5. Oyster

Artist D.D Dumbo
Filed Under Indie & Alternative