Daniel O'Sullivan


  • Daniel O'Sullivan - Folly
5th April 2019 / CD & LP / O Genesis

Daniel O'Sullivan



Daniel O’Sullivan is a composer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist living and working in London and has been contributing a vibrant, chameleonic brew to the music landscape since the late 1990's. He has achieved international acclaim writing, recording and performing with Grumbling Fur (with longtime friend and collaborator Alexander Tucker), Ulver, Sunn O))), Guapo, Miracle, Æthenor and the recent reincarnation of This Heat in the form of This Is Not This Heat.

Folly is the second album from Daniel O'Sullivan under his own name and embodies a confident evolution from his acclaimed debut Veld released 2017 also on O Genesis, an album which distilled the multiverse into a rich and complex sound-world; textured and allusive, alive with sonic diversions, hypnotic mantras and ornately arranged song craft. Folly was written around the birth of his son Ari and the passing of his friend Ian Johnstone,  both events having significance in the album that followed. O’Sullivan explains, “Joy is inseparable from suffering and sometimes those polarities arrive at the same moment. Music offers a vessel to contain the unspeakable.”

This cycle of twelve songs deftly illustrates O'Sullivan's ascent as a unique and multi-dimensional songwriter. Moving from the familiar pantheon of experimental music and arriving upon a universal narrative, probing the human condition from the inside out. Both lyrically and within the intricate lattice of arrangements, traditional forms are reshaped into transcendent pop symphonies. Both intimate and alien, archetypal and atypical, joyous and melancholic, the aperture of Folly is wide open and light streams in.  O’Sullivan explains the solo writing process, “Writing songs alone can take some time even if a song arrives fully formed in your mind. The execution of it involves long durations with each individual part of the arrangement until it reaches something concise. The song tells you what it needs and I try not to force ideas onto it.” and goes on to say, “These songs are outside in rather than inside out, there was always a latency between the birth of the song and my understanding of its purpose. Folly is looking at who is doing the shaping, most of these songs are about writing songs.”

Written mostly in London, O’Sullivan explains the inspiration for the title, “There's a folly of a medieval abbey in these gardens that surround where I live. My family and I spend a lot of time roaming around there, amongst the frogs, foxes, mushrooms, owls, and the many strange 'introduced' plants and trees. It was landscaped to be a rabbit hole sort of place.”

The release of Folly coincides with a two-night residency for The New Arts and Music Programme at Sutton House, Hackney. Set in the Arts and Crafts era wing of this Tudor manor house, using its early 20th Century Steinway grand piano, Friday 5 April will see O’Sullivan performing songs from Folly with his ensemble, with special guests from the O Genesis family -  Richard Youngs and The Silver Field,. Saturday 6 April will include a solo performance from Thighpaulsandra, who recorded and mixed the album, while Daniel performs songs with guest appearances by Peter Broderick and Thighpaulsandra among others.

The LP is pressed on Yellow vinyl

1. The Air St Evignne
2. Under The Knife
3. Time Elapsing Blue
4. Rattleman
5. Honour Wave
6. Air Tunes
7. The Diamond Vehicle
8. Penny Rag
9. Silhouette
10. Utopiary
11. Amnion
12. The Coming Of Age Story


Format /CD & LP
Released /5th April 2019
Catalogue / OGEN84
Barcode / 5053760046233
Label /O Genesis
Genre / Experimental
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.