Daughter - Not to Disappear

Out of Stock
  • Daughter - Not to Disappear - Drift Records

Daughter - Not to Disappear

Out of Stock

FormatCD & LP
ReleasedJanuary 15th 2016
Catalogue CAD3604CD
Barcode 652637360424

Nearly three years after the release of their debut If You Leave, Daughter – the London-based trio of Elena Tonra, Igor Haefeli and Remi Aguilella – will return in 2016 with a new album, entitled Not To Disappear. 

Eager for a fresh approach to music videos, Daughter invited filmmakers Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard (directors of the Nick Cave film 20,000 Days on Earth) to create three films for Not To Disappear. Author Stuart Evers was commissioned to write three short stories – ‘Dress’, ‘Window’ and ‘5,040’ – based on select Not To Disappear tracks. Iain & Jane’s videos are interpretations of those tales. ‘Doing The Right Thing’ (based on the story ‘Dress’) is the first of the visual trilogy.

‘Doing The Right Thing’ concerns the delicate subject of dementia and its debilitating, all-pervading effect on family. Jane & Iain’s video of ‘Doing The Right Thing’ is a sympathetic portrayal.

Not To Disappear is Daughter’s second album and finds the band making confident strides forward both sonically and lyrically. Elena, Igor and Remi spent a summer in New York recording Not To Disappear with Nicolas Vernhes (Deerhunter, War On Drugs, Animal Collective) at his Rare Book Room studio in Greenpoint, Brooklyn.

Album cover painting ‘The world is spinning around’ by Sarah Shaw. Sick innit.

1. New Ways
2. Numbers
3. Doing The Right Thing
4. How
5. Mothers
6. Alone / With You
7. No Care
8. To Belong
9. Fossa
10. Made Of Stone

Artist Daughter
Filed Under Indie & Alternative