Dave Heumann - Here in the Deep

£11.99 £18.99
  • Dave Heumann - Here in the Deep - Drift Records

Dave Heumann - Here in the Deep

£11.99 £18.99

FormatCD & LP
Released16th October
Catalogue THRILL404LP

Dave Heumann, leader of the beloved Baltimore indie-rock band Arbouretum, branches out with his debut solo record "Here in the Deep". While Arbouretum were on a year-long hiatus, Heumann continued writing, finding himself with a collection of material that displayed a different style of songwriting than in his past efforts. The recording of these songs gave Heumann a chance to play with a talented group of friends, including Walker Teret of Lower Dens, Wye Oak’s Jenn Wasner, and accomplished pianist Hans Chew (D. Charles Speer & The Helix), among others.

The songs on Here in the Deep were arranged with a mind to explore textures outside of what Arbouretum typically embodies. Significantly, album was mixed by John Parish (PJ Harvey, Perfume Genius, Jenny Hval, Eels) whose sense for the deep, warm spaces the songs occupy allowed him to give the album a distinct clarity not found on any Arbouretum album.

Highly informed by folk and pop traditions, the album’s ten tracks are so beautifully crafted that they seem instantly familiar to the listener. Lyrically, the songs touch on themes at once cosmic and universal: the connection of the human spirit to its environment, and different routes to navigate within. There is a paradoxical lightness to the recording juxtaposed with a deeply resonant sense to the words.

1. Switchback
2. Cloud Mind
3. Ides Of Summer
4. Morning Remnants
5. Here In The Deep
6. Greenwood Side
7. Leaves Underfoot
8. Holly King On A Hill
9. Ends Of The Earth
10. By Jove

Artist Dave Heumann
Filed Under Indie & Alternative