David West with Teardrops - Cherry On Willow

  • David West with Teardrops - Cherry On Willow

David West with Teardrops - Cherry On Willow


InfoCD & LP20th October 2017

David West is a musical artist from Western Australia based in New York City. He's been active in the shifting sands of underground pop for over a decade. Not dissimilar to the main character in Star Wars, his musical career began in a backwater desert village, in this case, Perth, before he migrated to more glittering metropolises like San Francisco and Melbourne, and finally landing in his current home of New York. He presently plays in the contemporary outfits Rat Columns, Rank/Xerox and Liberation. In the past he has participated in such groups as Lace Curtain, Burning Sensation and Total Control. DW began releasing eponymous platters in 2015 with the Night People/Happy Endin' full-length cassette Drop Out Of Collage. This was followed in 2016 by the Peace Or Love LP which featured the radio semi-hit ‘Dream On Dreamer’. DW's move into the "own-name" category of artists came as his other bands began to develop defined identities.

+ Indies only pressing on 'Cherry Cola' coloured vinyl.

He felt that recording under his own name would be an excellent umbrella for both roving experimentation and a more frivolous, post-modern style of pop music that would not fit in the frameworks of his other projects. Also, after crafting band names for over a decade, it was just time. Cherry On Willow is DW's audio pop vision for 2017. It differs from the last two DW releases by introducing a more collaborative framework, creating the backing group Teardrops - an open ensemble of friends and collaborators, including Bob Jones of Eaters, Louis Hooper of Rat Columns, Mikey Young of Total Control and Eddy Current Suppression Ring, Raven Mahon of Grass Widow, dynamite drummer Griffin Harrison and other supremely talented individuals from the past and future.

1 Morning Rain
2 Cherry On Willow
3 Joy
4 Love Comes On
5 Time To Forget
6 Reds For The Blues
7 Soft 8 Swan’s Beat
9 Call Me Sometime

LabelTough Love