Dean Wareham Vs. Cheval Sombre

Dean Wareham Vs. Cheval Sombre

  • Dean Wareham Vs. Cheval Sombre - Dean Wareham Vs. Cheval Sombre
26th October 2018 / CD & LP / Double Feature Records

Dean Wareham Vs. Cheval Sombre

Dean Wareham Vs. Cheval Sombre


Dean Wareham has recorded an album of western dream-pop with his friend Cheval Sombre. They take turns singing western themed songs by the likes of Marty Robbins, Ricky Nelson, Bob Dylan and Magnetic Fields.

Produced by Jason Quever (Papercuts, Beach House) and with a band featuring Britta Phillips (Luna), Anthony LaMarca (the War on Drugs). Dean Wareham founded the bands Galaxie 500 and Luna.

One-man-band Cheval Sombre (Chris Porpora) emerged in the 2000s, making recordings in his apartment on the Hudson River, on previous releases he worked with Dean and Britta, Sonic Boom and members of MGMT.

1. The Bend In The River
2. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
3. Mountains Of The Moon
4. If I Could Only Fly
5. Wayfaring Stranger
6. Alberta
7. Wandering Star
8. Greensboro Woman
9. My Rifle, My Pony & Me
10. Grand Canyon

Format /CD & LP
Released /26th October 2018
Catalogue / DBL0015CD
Barcode / 0634457877122
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...