Destroyer - ken

  • Destroyer - ken - Drift Records

Destroyer - ken


FormatCD & LP
Released20th October 2017
Catalogue DOC140CD
Barcode 0656605144023

Twelfth studio album from Destroyer.

+ Indies only LP, yellow vinyl plus bonus 7”.

Destroyer discovered that the original name for “The Wild Ones” (one of the great English-language ballads of the last 100 years or so) was “Ken.” He had an epiphany, and was physically struck by this information. In an attempt to hold on to this feeling, Destroyer decided to lift the original title of that song and use it for his own purposes. Apparently it’s unclear what that purpose is, or what the connection is. Destroy' wasn't thinking about Suede when making this record. He was thinking about the last few years of the Thatcher era. Those were the years when music first really came at me like a sickness, I had it bad. Maybe “The Wild Ones” speaks to that feeling, probably why "Suede made no sense in America." He also thinks “ken” also means “to know.”  Destroyer thinks lots of things. Particularly in this press release.

'ken' was produced by Josh Wells of Black Mountain, who has been the drummer in Destroyer since 2012. The album was recorded in its entirety in the jam space/studio space that the group calls The Balloon Factory. However, unlike Poison Season, ken was not recorded as a “band” record, though everyone in the band does make an appearance.

1. Sky's Grey
2. In the Morning
3. Tinseltown Swimming in Blood
4. Cover From the Sun
5. Saw You at the Hospital
6. A Light Travels Down the Catwalk
7. Rome
8. Sometimes in the World
9. Ivory Coast
10. Stay Lost
11. La Regle de Jeu

Artist Destroyer
Filed Under Indie & Alternative