Dirty Projectors

Dirty Projectors

  • Dirty Projectors - Dirty Projectors - Drift Records
24th February 2017 / CD & LP / Domino

Dirty Projectors

Dirty Projectors


February's record of the month has been - and is for another week - the remarkable self-titled Dirty Projectors album. Their eighth studio album is all about break ups, thematically about the separation from girlfriend and former band member Amber Coffman, creatively from fellow vocalist Angel Deradoorian and more broadly from the explosive and rich tropical low-fi high-fi shape-shifting gear crunching and highly addictive music they make. In the classic sense, this new LP is archetypal Dirty Projectors, it's all about ideas and percussive elements framing David Longstreth's vocals... but flying solo it is very much about him, and starkly about him. Sort of futuristic RnB, heartbreakingly honest, bare and very intense. Without the joyous moments it is perhaps the toughest listens in their catalogue, but it is really superb and the intensity has translated into meticulous and pretty glorious pop music... the year's most striking record so far.

The new Dirty Projectors song ‘Up In Hudson’ is an elegy — to the Obama years, to a generation of indie rock, and to a relationship. Over the course of nine verses and almost eight minutes, the lyrics situate David Longstreth & his band in the vivid textures of the recent past like a millennial Blood On The Tracks. It is a piece of epic storytelling unlike anything else in Dirty Projectors’ discography.

To arrive where we began and know the place for the first time: ‘Up In Hudson’ is an origin story for a new chapter of Dirty Projectors.

The new album does everything we want and expect from Dirty Projectors — but in a way we never could have imagined or anticipated. In a career of surprising conceptual gambits, unexpected stylistic evolutions, and continually changing lineups — this is, as DJ Khaled says, “ANOTHER ONE”!

01. Keep Your Name
02. Death Spiral
03. Up In Hudson
04. Work Together
05. Little Bubble
06. Winner Take Nothing
07. Ascent Through Clouds
08. Cool Your Heart
09. I See You

CD - First pressing featuring O-card CD sleeve. Includes 16-page libretto.

LP - Double LP in a wide spine jacket. Includes 16 page 11 x 11 Libretto, custom etched D-Side and MP3s.

Indie LP - Double LP pressed on clear/black/smoke coloured vinyl in a wide spine jacket. Includes 16 page 11 x 11 Libretto, custom etched D-Side and MP3s.

Format /CD & LP
Released /24th February 2017
Catalogue / WIGLP325X
Barcode / 0887828032532
Artist / Dirty Projectors
Label /Domino
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...