Elvin Jones

Mr. Jones

Out of Stock
  • Elvin Jones - Mr. Jones
13th March 2020 / LP / Blue Note

Elvin Jones

Mr. Jones

Out of Stock

Fine 1973 solo album from the drummer best known for his role in John Coltrane’s Classic Quartet. Elvin’s sixth and penultimate solo album for Blue Note. Featuring Mahavishnu Orchestra maestro Jan Hammer on keyboards, three saxophonists famous for their association with Miles Davis (Dave Liebman, Steve Grossman, George Coleman) plus Pepper Adams (baritone sax), Joe Farrell (tenor and flutes), Thad Jones on flugelhorn, bassist (and another Miles alumnus) Gene Perla and a three-man percussion section.

A varied set touching on Latin Jazz and post-bop, showcasing two Elvin compositions (the title track, ‘One’s Native Place’), two by Perla (‘G.G.’, ‘What’s Up? That’s It!’) one by Liebman (‘New Breed’) and a gorgeous take on Tadd Dameron’s ‘Soultrane’. Side one produced by Blue Note co-founder Alfred Lion, side two produced by Dr George Butler

Format /LP
Released /13th March 2020
Catalogue / 0845470
Barcode / 00602508454707
Artist / Elvin Jones
Label /Blue Note
Genre / Jazz
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.