Ethers - Ethers

  • Ethers - Ethers

Ethers - Ethers


FormatCD or LP
Released24th August 2018
Catalogue TIM136CD
Barcode 0630125983102

Ethers' Debut album - featuring members of Heavy Times, Radar Eyes and Outer Minds. Recorded by Dave Vettraino and mastered by Mikey Young.

+ Indie shop only Limited “bloody bottle” colour vinyl.

Calling Chicago band Ethers a “supergroup” might be hyperbole to many outside the Chicago music scene, but for those who have been keeping score in the past few years, a pedigree of bands like Heavy Times, Outer Minds, Radar Eyes and The Runnies seems like a dream team. After the dissolution of his band Heavy Times, guitarist & songwriter Bo Hansen joined forces with husband & wife musical/life partners Russell Calderwood & Mary McKane & drummer Matt Rolin to concoct what would become Ethers’ eponymous debut album. "A self-described "bad time band", Chicago group Ethers' debut consists of twelve songs of ragged, soulful rock and roll; heavy on hooks, with stark arrangements and sticky melodies that hang with an unexpected resonance. Instant earworms like opener "Empty Hours", "Rip Off" and "Modern Dating" recall bands like soulful punks Royal Headache or Asheville troubadours Reigning Sound, while third quarter-album high point "CBD" rages with nervous energy like a long-lost Feelies "Crazy Rhythms" outtake.

Tunes like "Carry What You Kill" and album closer "Something" are soaked in melancholy, but peppered with cynicism and charm. The band oozes a world-weariness, but the tunes yearn with a hopeful ache for better days ahead. Recorded in the raw, with very little audio adornment by Chicago engineer Dave Vettraino & mastered by Melbourne legend Mikey Young (Total Control, Eddy
Current Suppression Ring), the spartan production allows the songs to be the main focus."

1. Empty Hours
2. Running Through The Night
3. Rip Off
4. Nature’s Revenge
5. Emily
6. Carry What You Kill
7. Patient Life
8. Past My Prime
9. Party Girls vs. the War Department
10. CBD
11. Modern Dating
12. Something
Artist Ethers
Filed Under Indie & Alternative