Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Out of Stock
  • Flying Lotus - You're Dead! - Drift Records

Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Out of Stock

FormatCD, LP & Deluxe LP
Released6th October
Catalogue WARPCD256
Barcode 0801061025625

Flying Lotus returns with 'You're Dead!'. At once reflective, restless, heart wrenching and joyous, this is a melodic ode to those who have died young, suddenly and unexpectedly, while also existing as a comfort to those mourning the loss of a loved one. 'You're Dead!' serves as an exploration, a eulogy and a portal between the parallel domains of life and afterlife.

'You're Dead!' features another set of genre-blending tracks from Fly'Lo, with fluid movement between hip hop, jazz-funk and electronica, often combining all three elements densely woven together. Across the album bassist Thundercat lays down some furious fingerwork, while the drum programming gives free jazz a run for its money. Elsewhere things get deep and spiritual, with the influence of his late aunt Alice Coltrane shining through. Flying Lotus provides vocals and rapping as alter ego Captain Murphy, and he's also joined by some to notch guest MCs (Snoop Dogg, longtime FlyLo muse Niki Randa and Kendrick Lamar - whose easy shift between spitting rhymes and a sung delivery works perfectly with the music). Other collaborations on 'You're Dead!' include original jazz-funk pioneer Herbie Hancock and Dirty Projectors' Angel Deradoorian.

"Flying Lotus has become a standard-bearer for 21st century beat construction by looking forward and backward simultaneously and making music that feels like an exploration"? - Pitchfork

Available in the following formats;

* CD in wallet with folded poster booklet
* Double 140g LP in gatefold sleeve with download code card
* Four x 180g LP pressing. Includes You're Dead! album, plus You're Dead! Instrumentals. All vinyl in printed inner sleeves, outer sleeves and rigid box and lid. Includes download code card.

A1. Theme
A2. Tesla
A3. Cold Dead
A4. Fkn Dead

B1. Never Catch Me (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
B2. Dead Man's Tetris (feat. Captain Murphy & Snoop Dogg)
B3. Turkey Dog Coma
B4. Stirring
B5. Coronus, the Terminator
B6. Siren Song (feat. Angel Deradoorian)

C1. Turtles
C2. Ready err Not
C3. Eyes Above
C4. Moment of Hesitation

D1. Descent Into Madness (feat. Thundercat)
D2. The Boys Who Died in Their Sleep (feat. Captain Murphy)
D3. Obligatory Cadence
D4. Your Potential//The Beyond (feat. Niki Randa)
D5. The Protest

Artist Flying Lotus