Future Islands - The Far Field

Out of Stock
  • Future Islands - The Far Field

Future Islands - The Far Field

Out of Stock

FormatCD & LP
Released7th April 2017
Catalogue 4AD0001CD
Barcode 0191400000124

The Far Field is the new studio album from Future Islands and follows the worldwide breakthrough of the Singles album.

Future Islands are Samuel T. Herring (vocals, lyrics), William Cashion (bass, guitars) and Gerrit Whelmers (keyboards, programming).

+ Indie shop version is pressed on 180gm White vinyl.

Recorded in Los Angeles with GRAMMY award-winning producer John Congleton at the legendary Sunset Sound (where everyone from The Beach Boys to Prince have laid down masterpieces), The Far Field’s twelve chest-pounding love songs and odes to the road brilliantly express the central themes the band have been exploring for the last decade: that there is power in emotional vulnerability, that one can find a way to laugh and cry in the same breath – and be stronger for it.

The Far Field features string and horn arrangements by Patrick McMinn and is their first record to feature live drums by Michael Lowry, who joined the band prior to their sensational performance of ‘Seasons (Waiting On You)’ on David Letterman’s late night TV show and has remained a fixture since. Blondie’s Debbie Harry also makes a guest appearance, in a duet with Herring on penultimate track ‘Shadows’.

A1. Aladdin
A2. Time On Her Side A3. Ran
A4. Beauty Of The Road A5. Cave
A6. Through the Roses B1. North Star
B2. Ancient Water
B3. Candles
B4. Day Glow Fire
B5. Shadows
B6. Black Rose

Filed Under Indie & Alternative