Genevieve Artadi

Dizzy Strange Summer

  • Genevieve Artadi - Dizzy Strange Summer
17th July 2020 / LP / Brainfeeder

Genevieve Artadi

Dizzy Strange Summer


Like every great Brainfeeder album, this is full of sonic changes, blurred tones and mind-expanding ideas. A real beauty.

On “Dizzy Strange Summer”, Genevieve Artadi offers a window into her ad-lib creativity and the LA community where it’s been nurtured. This is the vocalist, composer and producer’s second solo album, and it sees her stake out her own ground outside of her other groups KNOWER, Expensive Magnets and Everything’s Under Control. She brings her own slant to the DIY LA scene that she’s grown up in, melding influences from jazz, psychedelia, bossa nova and avant-garde electronics. “Dizzy Strange Summer” marks not only Artadi’s debut on Flying Lotus’ Brainfeeder imprint, but her first self-produced project released on any record label.

An impulsive spirit underwrites every part of the album, something reflected in the energy Genevieve devotes to create the videos to accompany them. It’s an honest, unmediated reflection of the period in which she created the music, supported by a close circle of like-minded musical friends including - but not limited to - Louis Cole (Brainfeeder), Sam Wilkes (Leaving Records), Henry Halliwell, Daniel Sunshine, Adam Weissman (Pollyn / Real Bad Man), Ruslan Sirota, Ross Garren, David Binney and Jacob Mann — each of whom she tapped up to add their flavour to songs where she felt their styles or talents aligned. Most tracks would begin life on her laptop, be sent to a friend for them to add their spin to it, before coming back to Artadi to be elevated to their final form. Reflecting on what drives her to create, she says: “Sometimes I just really get that burning feeling to make something and get it out there.” Above all, this is an album that speaks to that drive: to create something and share it with people.

Side A
01. I Hate When I Can’t Feel My Heart
02. Living Like I Know I’m Gonna Die
03. Godzillaaaa (feat. Real Bad Man)
04. Nowhere to Go
05. Edge of the Cliff (feat. David Binney, Louis Cole)
06. Will You Tell Me
07. Loneliness Grows
08. Hot Mess

Side B
01. Hope Song
02. Is What You Believe
03. Feelz Tru
04. oo ya
05. All I Want for Now
06. Mad Child
07. Before the Dark
08. cupcake5
Format /LP
Released /17th July 2020
Catalogue / BF098
Barcode / 5054429139624
Artist / Genevieve Artadi
Label /Brainfeeder
Genre / Jazz
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.