Grodeck Whipperjenny - The Grodeck Whipperjenny

  • Grodeck Whipperjenny - The Grodeck Whipperjenny

Grodeck Whipperjenny - The Grodeck Whipperjenny


Released13th April 2019
Catalogue NA5182LP
Barcode 0659457518219

Grodeck Whipperjenny - The Grodeck Whipperjenny was a 2019 Record Store Day exclusive title.

Sho is Funky Down Here and The Grodeck Whipperjenny are a pair of albums that are the result of an unlikely but highly productive musical relationship between James Brown, a superstar at the creative and commercial peaks of his long career, and David Matthews, a then young arranger-musician whose limited professional experience had little or nothing to do with the funk and soul of his collaborator. A psychedelic classic, created by his James Brown's bandleader David Matthews, the first album issued on Brown's famed People imprint. As progressive as it is funky, this album was issued in tandem with another Matthews project issued under Brown's name - Sho Is Funky Down Here. One of the deepest albums in the Brown catalog, its story is finally told. Lacquered directly from the original master tapes at Capitol Studios. Contains an extensive booklet with full annotation, liner notes by Brown historian Alan Leeds and never-before-published photos. 

This is the first official pressing since the original release. 2500 only worldwide. 

Side A
1. Sitting Here On A Tongue
2. Wonder If
3. Why Can't I Go Back
4. Conclusions
5. You' re Too Young
B Side
1. Put Your Thing On Me
2. Inside Or Outside
3. Evidence For The Existence Of The Unconscious


Filed Under Rock & Psych & Garage