Gruff Rhys - Pang!

  • Gruff Rhys - Pang!

Gruff Rhys - Pang!


FormatCD & LP
Released13th September 2019
Catalogue RT0086LPE
Barcode 191402008609

Pang! is the new solo LP from Gruff Rhys, the Super Furry Animal, one man institution, Sea Change headliner and one of our most favioute artists of the last twenty plus years. Pang! is Welsh Language pop album with a couple of verses of Zulu and an English title.

+ Limited indie shop edition is pressed on blue and white splatter vinyl, with deluxe heavyweight hand-finished sleeve with poster

+ Standard edition LP is on green vinyl.

Pang! developed unexpectedly over around 18 months. A solo album of songs by Gruff Rhys, produced and mixed by the South African electronic artist Mmusi. The album was recorded in Cardiff and  mixed by the producer Muzi in Johannesburg, South Africa. Drums by Welsh-American psychedelic warlord Kliph Scurlock, brass by Gavin Fitzjohn and flute and percussion by the engineer Kris Jenkins. Beats, bass and ah’s by Muzi with Gruff on vocals and guitar.

Gruff explains "Pang! Is a Welsh language song with an English title. It started life as a folk reel and soon expanded into a ‘list’ song, listing various reasons for pangs; hunger, regret, twitter, pain, bad design etc. Using the English word pang in a Welsh language track may appear weird but I suppose it’s like using the French word ‘Magazine’ in an English song. In that it’s slightly pretentious but completely acceptable.”

1. Pang!
2. Bae Bae Bae
3. Digidigol
4. Ara Deg
5. Eli Haul
6. Niwl O Anwiredd
7. Taranau Mai
8. Oi Bys Nodau Clust
9. Annedd Im Danedd

Artist Gruff Rhys
Filed Under Indie & Alternative