Gruff Rhys

Set Fire To The Stars

  • Gruff Rhys - Set Fire To The Stars
30th September 2016 / CD & LP / Twisted Nerve

Gruff Rhys

Set Fire To The Stars


Gruff Rhys presents the soundtrack to the film Set Fire To The Stars. 

Although recorded around the same time as Gruff’s last LP (2014’s hugely acclaimed American Interior), Set Fire To The Stars paints a very different picture to that of the Welsh explorer John Evans. Equal parts cocktail jazz, hazy Americana and Atomic Age bop, it’s a love letter to New York in all its hopeful, post war glory – a gorgeous diversion of a record to add to Gruff’s increasingly brilliant solo catalogue.

Gruff on Set Fire To The Stars:
“This is an album of music written for a film directed by Andy Goddard concerning the poet Dylan Thomas’s first week in the USA in 1950 and his uneven friendship with fellow poet - and agent of sorts - John Malcolm Brinnin. As the film is shot in black and white and set in the Jazz age, I decided not to use any instruments unavailable in that era. I also keep the recordings as live takes. Beyond that - I didn’t try and ape the style of that era in particular apart from the song Atom Bomb which on screen, plays on a jukebox in a cafe and needed to be true to the year sonically and lyrically in some way.

“Playing the guitar, I formed a short lived Agro-Jazz quartet (you got a problem with that?) called Video Loss with Chris Walmsley on drums, Jim Barr on double bass and Osian Gwynedd on piano. I wrote a bunch of songs and instrumentals. Some other bits were improvised to picture by Osian Gwynedd and myself. Chop Shop features Video Loss on max Moon-Ra improvisational setting. Gruff ab Arwel arranged all the strings and Gavin Fitzjohn played and scored the brass. It was recorded and mixed at Toybox, Bristol by the incredible Ali Chant - apart from the strings which were recorded at Metropolis, London.”

1 John Malcolm Brinnin
2 Set Fire to the Stars
3 After Hours/Panic
4 Tremble (Down)
5 Tremble to the Light
6 Tremble (Up)
7 After Hours/Tension
8 Log Cabin 1
9 Log Cabin 2
10 Log Cabin 3
11 John Adoring At Yale
12 Set Fire to the Strings
13 After Hours/Tender
14 John & The Poem
15 B Chop Shop
16 Atom Bomb
17 After Hours/Contentment
18 Ticking Clock
19 Military Madness
20 Caitlin’s Theme
21 Tremble (Joy)
22 Dylan’s Demons
23 It Was Hot That Summer

Format /CD & LP
Released /30th September 2016
Catalogue / TN093CD
Barcode / 5060099506437
Artist / Gruff Rhys
Label /Twisted Nerve
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...