Ian Dury

Hit Me! The Best Of [2020]

Out of Stock
  • Ian Dury - Hit Me! The Best Of [2020]
16th October 2020 / LP or CD / BMG

Ian Dury

Hit Me! The Best Of [2020]

Out of Stock

A new collection of and about national institution (and rightly so), the King Blockhead himself, Mr. Ian Dury. Give thanks. If you want one guy who pretty much sums up the late twentieth century, he's ya boi.

A brand new collection covering the entire career of the unique and incomparable Ian Dury.

+ Limited Indie shop only 2LP version is pressed on white coloured vinyl.

This collection features some of Dury’s earliest work with Kilburn & The High Roads, through a golden period of solo hits and classic recordings with the infamous Blockheads to his final studio album released in 2002, two years after his untimely passing in 2000.

The Crown Prince of Essex… the punk poet laureate… Ian Dury’s mastery of the English language and powerful performance made him an artist like no other. His wit, wisdom and showmanship are ever present here on classic tracks such as ‘Reasons To Be Cheerful, Pt 3’, ‘Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick’, ‘Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll’ …all now unofficial British anthems!

The collection also feature brand new liner notes by comedian, writer and Ian’s friend, Phill Jupitus, alongside rare and unseen photographs.

2LP Tracks:
Reasons to Be Cheerful (Part 3)
Hit Me with Your Rhythm Stick
I Want to Be Straight
Billericay Dickie
I'm Partial To Your Abracadabra
What A Waste
Sueperman's Big Sister
There Ain't Been Some Clever Bastards
My Old Man
Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll
Wake Up and Make Love with Me
Sweet Gene Vincent
Clevor Trevor
This Is What We Find
Mash It Up Harry
Dance Little Rude Boy
Rough Kids
Upminster Kid

3CD Tracks:
Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll
Wake Up and Make Love With Me
Sweet Gene Vincent
Clevor Trever
Billericay Dickie
My Old Man
I’m Partial To Your Abracadabra
Plaistow Patricia
Pam’s Moods
If I Was With A Woman
Upminster Kid
Billy Bentley (Promenades Himself In London)
Rough Kids
The Mumble Rumble and the Cocktail Rock
The Roadette Song
Crippled With Nerves
Blackmail Man
Reasons To Be Cheerful, Pt. 3 (12” Version)
Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick
What A Waste
I Want To Be Straight
This Is What We Find
There Ain’t Half Been Some Clever Bastards
Waiting For Your Taxi
Razzle In My Pocket
You’re More Than Fair
Common As Muck
Dance Of The Screamers
Don’t Ask Me
Lullaby For Franci/es
Mash It Up Harry
Dance Little Rude Boy
Sueperman’s Big Sister
Spasticus Autisticus (Live)
You’ll See Glimpses
F*cking Ada
Hey, Hey Take Me Away
Dance Of The Crackpots
Bed O’Roses No.9
Itinerant Child
Jack Sh*t George
I Believe
One Love
England’s Glory (Demo)

Format /LP or CD
Released /16th October 2020
Catalogue / 4050538633153
Barcode / 4050538633153
Artist / Ian Dury
Label /BMG
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.