Ian William Craig - Thresholder

Out of Stock
  • Ian William Craig - Thresholder

Ian William Craig - Thresholder

Out of Stock

Released2nd November 2018
Catalogue LP1332
Barcode 600116133212

Eighteen months on from his last new release, Vancouver-based singer / composer Ian William Craig returns with an album-length release that collects together eleven new tracks. Entitled 'Thresholder', the record sees Craig return towards the smudged and scoured beauty of his 2016 opus, 'Centres', a record which was universally acclaimed, making many end-of-year lists – including the likes of Rolling Stone, Uncut, The Wire, The Quietus, The 405 and Drowned In Sound. 'Thresholder' is released on vinyl, packaged in gorgeous inner / outer sleeve artwork from Ian.

Besides as the often-quoted William Basinski reference point, the music here recalls the visceral media-decay of early ‘00s operators like Fennesz, Belong, Desormais, Philip Jeck or Pimmon. 'Idea for Contradiction 2' Is like a massively overdriven or sandpaper-scoured version of Brian Eno's 'An Ending' or some shredded Colin Stetson stem. The ending of ‘And Therefore the Moonlight’ - is reminiscent of Sigur Rós (who are fans and recently invited Ian to play their Norður og Niður festival in Reykjavik); whilst ‘Sfumato’ exists in the same dimension as The Caretaker's haunted ballroom with its reverb-drenched and occluded distant vocal. Elsehwere 'The Last Wesbrook Lament' might recall Animal Collective's 'Loch Raven' with the percussion erased. Craig signs the record off on 'More Words for Mistake', a track that seems to define itself through absence, with the spirit of old machinery rattling away as we emerge from the record's 38-minutes scoured and anointed.

1. Elided
2. Some Absolute Means
3. TC-377 Poem
4. Mass Noun
5. Idea for Contradiction 1

1. And Therefore the Moonlight
2. The Last Wesbrook Lament
3. Discovered in Flat
4. Sfumato
5. Idea for Contradiction 2
6. More Words for Mistake

LabelFat Cat