Out of Stock
  • Jameszoo & The Metropole Orkest - Melkweg
3rd July 2020 / 2LP / Brainfeeder



Out of Stock

Brainfeeder release the 2017 collaboration between Jameszoo & The Metropole Orkest, really dazzling this, incredible in its fluidity and scale.

In 2017 Jameszoo opened Amsterdam Dance Event with a very special collaboration with Jules Buckley and the Grammy-Award winning Metropole Orkest at the iconic Melkweg concert hall. The recordings of this momentous collaboration are released via the monumental Brainfeeder label.

The magic and the chemistry in the room that evening was both exhilarating and heartwarming as Buckley - Chief Conductor of the Metropole Orkest since 2013 - led the 49-piece orchestra, plus Richard Spaven (drums); Niels Broos (organs, synths, Rhodes); Frank Wienk aka Binkbeats (percussion); John Dikeman (saxophone) and Mitchel van Dinther aka Jameszoo (electronics, synths and Wurlitzer) on a truly joyful journey, elevating compositions from van Dinther’s 2016 album “Fool” to transcendental realms.

“This was as wonderful as it was frightening,” says van Dinther. “I was in great hands being guided by Jules and the orchestra. Because of them I could hear my compositions flower.”

Jules Buckley describes the collaboration as “a really open and rewarding process. Mitchel’s mind rolls in a different way and so, tapping the orchestra into those avenues - for me - created some really beautiful and unusual results I’m really proud of.”

Jameszoo released his debut album “Fool” in 2016 via Brainfeeder. A curious, at times downright awkward, but thoroughly enjoyable blend of jazz and off kilter electronics, it was heralded by Pitchfork for its playful hybridity, free spirited character and innovation: “It bursts at the seams with ideas”. The record featured cameos from two outright legends: Brazilian composer Arthur Verocai and pianist Steve Kuhn; bassist Thundercat; keyboardist Niels Broos and drummers Richard Spaven and Julian Sartorius.

1. (flake) 
2. (lose) 
3. (toots) 
4. (soup) 
5. (nail) 
6. (flu) 
7. (meat) 
8. (crumble) 
9. (rolrolrol)

Format /2LP
Released /3rd July 2020
Catalogue / BF080
Barcode / 5054429140392
Artist / Jameszoo
Label /Brainfeeder
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...