Jess Williamson - Sorceress

  • Jess Williamson - Sorceress

Jess Williamson - Sorceress


FormatCD & LP
Released15th May 2020
Catalogue MEX2800
Barcode 184923128000

We’re in the midst of an occult revival, in large part because people are searching for meaning. As the esoteric scholar Erik Davis wrote, “We turn to psychedelics, the occult, meditation, not just as another form of ideology, but because they reflect something true about the situation we’re in.” Magic is something that can live in chaos and make use of chaos, and these are chaotic times.

Jess Williamson’s Sorceress, her fourth album and second with Mexican Summer, arrives during this cultural moment. Fittingly, it addresses these issues via personal epiphany and offers revelation in the real sense of the word.

Across eleven country western prayers and pop incantations, Williamson melds the magical with the day-to-day, and makes it feel universal. On the title track, a gorgeous fireside ballad that finds her accompanied by the chirps of cicadas, she sings “Yes, there’s a little magic in my hat / But I’m no sorceress.” The thing is, she certainly sounds like one. Sorceress is polished and assured and it hits immediately. The Texas singer and songwriter makes deeply felt songs that orbit around her powerful voice, a voice that’s strong and vulnerable, big-room flawless, quietly ecstatic, and next-to-you intimate. When she has something to say, even when it’s a kind of Dolly Parton whisper, you listen.

Indies Only LP on Crystal Ball Coloured vinyl

1. Smoke
2. As The Birds Are
3. Wind On Tin
4. Sorceress
5. Infinite Scroll
6. Love's Not Hard To Find
7. How Ya Lonesome
8. Rosaries At The Border
9. Ponies In Town
10. Harm None
11. Gulf Of Mexico

Filed Under Country & Americana