John Matthias, Jay Auborn, Stanley Donwood and Mat Consume

BROADMEAD: The Soundtrack to the Film of the Place

  • John Matthias, Jay Auborn, Stanley Donwood and Mat Consume - BROADMEAD: The Soundtrack to the Film of the Place
13th December 2019 / Ltd LP / Welfare State

John Matthias, Jay Auborn, Stanley Donwood and Mat Consume

BROADMEAD: The Soundtrack to the Film of the Place


Broadmead: The Soundtrack to the Film of the Place gets a super super super limited edition pressing on grey vinyl and we have just a handful.

'Broadmead' is the soundtrack to ‘Broadmead: The Movie’, a film by Stanley Donwood and Mat Consume. Named after a run-down shopping precinct in Bristol, it mournfully recalls a time when the government of the United Kingdom was building a National Health Service, new universities, nationalising the railways and creating a Welfare State.

Packaging designed by Eight Grey and photography by Joe Auborn. It includes essays by Gareth Evans (Whitechapel Gallery) and Sukhdev Sandhu (The Guardian) as well as the narrated text by Stanley Donwood.

Conveying a bleakly elegiac beauty, the film is a series of ‘moving photographs’, accompanied by deadpan narration and a beautifully sad score written and performed by John Matthias and Jay Auborn. Broadmead is a film that hints of a future that has now been lost.

Stanley Donwood is best known for his collaboration with Radiohead. A retrospective of his artwork, There Will Be No Quiet was published by Thames & Hudson in October 2019. Ness, a collaboration with Robert Macfarlane was published in November 2019 by Hamish Hamilton. His next book, Bad Island, will be published in 2020.

‘I began to think that it might be possible to predict the future by looking at Broadmead. I thought that by spending enough time here I could divine the facts of what the days to come might bring. By examining the spaces between the concrete façades I might decipher a new geometry that would lead me to an understanding of the visible world.’ - from the narration by Stanley Donwood.

Mat Consume is an artist and designer working in multiple medias. He was a Dj /producer and a founder member of No Future in Brighton and Berlin during the 90’s and was also a founder member of Plastic Reality/Plastic Pictures. After losing his hearing, he began working in short films and animation.

John Matthias is a musician and composer who has released six albums via Accidental, Ninja Tune, Nonclassical, Village Green and Sony. He has collaborated with many artists including Radiohead and Coldcut and has had his music remixed by many artists including Thom Yorke, Matthew Herbert and Prince Jammy. In 2008 he won the UK PRS Foundation New Music Award (The ‘Turner Prize’ for music) with Jane Grant and Nick Ryan for The Fragmented Orchestra. He has contributed music to many feature films and TV programmes and had his music performed at Le Poisson Rouge, The Pompidou Centre and The Royal Opera House. He has a Ph.D in Theoretical Physics from Exeter University, UK.

Jay Auborn is a musician, producer and multi-instrumentalist. His work fuses acoustic and electronic genres, applying experimental sound processes to more traditional instrumentation. Recent work includes the 2017 ‘Race to Zero’ LP (Village Green) and 2018’s ‘In The Cloud’ film soundtrack (Sony). Based in Bristol, he manages dBs_Pro, an award-winning creative audio studio and part of the dBs Music institute. A new album is scheduled for release on the Village Green label in early 2020.
Format /Ltd LP
Released /13th December 2019
Catalogue / BR201901
Barcode / 5060114368095
Label /Welfare State
Genre / Soundtracks
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.